How to Tame Your Dreads: Dreadhead HQ Toolkit

in #dreadlocks6 years ago

Within a few months of me initially doing John's dreadlocks with simple crochet needle we were looking into options for fixing things like loose hairs with his dreads. We found dreadheadhq.com pretty easily as well as their videos on Youtube that explain often in detail how to use their products. We first just tried one tool, the small loose hair tool. Now we've purchased one of the kits and it finally came a few days ago. Soon I will go through and review each thing individually after I've used them more.

Primarily just with the use of two tools I've already completed a round of maintenance on John's dreads, which means I just went through and cleaned up each one. He had a lot of issues with loose hairs as well as small dreads forming in random spots.

This is the photo for the warning label of sorts that came with what's called the "lock docta" which is my new best friend. It's got a sharp needle with tiny strategic burs on it. It breaks select hairs within the dread when poked into it allowing you to remove things like the bumps and lumps that adorn my dreads. Until recently I've actually been quite proud of those bumps and honestly I don't mind the way they look. However as my dreads become more solid and more rough textured those bumps basically become itchy little lumps that bug my scalp so I'm ready to straighten them out. One would think a tool to break hairs within the dread wouldn't be useful but honestly even I'm a little surprised at how well it seems to work.

This is the loose hair tool, the regular sized one. We first purchased the small one back when John's dreads were small and soft but after awhile it literally doesn't do it. I've broken several of the small version of these in John's mature dreads, always assuming the big latch hook would be too much. After using this on nearly every one of John's dreads I see the value in the strong, pointed tip and it's large size. I tried using the small one once and nearly broke it. It's best for dreads not very firm.

Just a modified but seriously useful improvised latch hook design. I had no idea when I was a kid playing with those latchook kits that this was where I would end up with it.

This is very close in size to the needle I've used to start John's and my dreadlocks. This is dreadheadhq's version with a cozy wooden handle they call the lock sculpta, best for making the locks. I tried using it on mature dreads, it's just not appropriate but is going to come in handy should I help anyone start their dreadlock journey.

This is that small loose hair tool I mentioned. It was seriously useful in the early days but again, doesn't seem to help much now.

In this photo you can see the burrs on the lock docta I was talking about. It really does seem counter intuitive when you go stabbing a ragged needle into the soft part of a messed up dreadlock. It makes a bunch of noise that makes me cringe but instead of resulting in a soft unhappy falling apart dread I'm left with something more straight and actually a little longer.

And it comes with extra needles. It has that sheet because it is seriously sharp. My fingers are already sore from not paying attention and stabbing myself but it is seriously worth the trouble especially if you can pay attention. There's also a comb I'm not likely to use, some stuff I'll recommend you NEVER put in your hair called "Lock Peppa" and we also got a shower shampoo brush that I'm not sure I get how to use.

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

You Gotta Dread Your Heart Before Your Dread Your Head: Lily's Dready Journey Explained
Finding Peace in a Crochet Needle: Thoughts on Learning a New Hobby
Craft Adventures: My First Dread Hat

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Acapulco's Best Kept Secret: Palma Sola Archeological Site 5
Rebel Dog My Cuddle Monster
Pink and Clear Petroglyph Inspired Glass Spoon Pipe and Pendant Set

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17