I died

in #dream5 years ago

DSC_0364.jpg

I've heard a claim that it is not possible to die in a dream. Well, I would say I had an experience that contradicts that.

I am in a plane. If I remember correctly, my dad is there with me also. The plane begins to accelerate for lift-off and I feel that tingling sensation in my belly when my back is pushed against the seat. The lift-off starts, but before reaching significant height, it starts to tilt to the right and surge down. The ground becomes closer in an increasing speed. The moment of impact comes, but before I get to feel anything...

Void.

There is nothing around me. I try to open my eyes, but I realize I don't have eyes to open. I cannot wake up. I am just floating in nothingness without a sense of anything. Yet I'm still here. How long? Hopefully not an eternity.

Obviously, the dream ended at some point, don't remember what happened after being in oblivion, but that was one scary experience; the moment when I realized the plane was going to crash, I genuinely thought I was going to die, and it was one hopeless experience to realize your life was going to end in a whim, completely outside of your control, and that there would be no more 'me' the second after. "This is how it's going to happen? Right on this plane when I could've been anywhere else."

Man... makes me kinda happy I am alive.

Sort:  

A dream that keeps reoccurring for me!!! In my case, the plane is always made out glass and what happens after is what has convinced me eventually that death doesn‘t exist. 😀

Posted using Partiko iOS

what happens after is what has convinced me eventually that death doesn‘t exist. 😀

Well, that is a comforting thought. Hopefully the afterlife is somewhere else than in oblivion though. It's kinda boring, you know.

just floating around wishing you had done something else when you had a body :D

Infinite regrets. Noooooooooo!

Better choose wisely not to have them and just be a content floater :D

"Non, rien de rien, non, je ne regrette rien …"

I like having dreams where I feel fear. Makes me feel alive.

I never before saw it like that but makes total sense! I like remarkable dreams in general. Anybody else here writing a dream journal?

I used to, but I've been slacking with it. Part of the reason is that I have early mornings with my job, but during weekends – there's little excuses left. But it would be good to do it, because it is beneficial for the ability to achieve lucidity in dreams – those are the fun ones, unfortunately they just take a lot of effort to achieve, well, for me at least. Although sometimes they just happen without particularly thinking about it.

Dreams are one big mystery...

One phrase as soon as you ake up is already enough to start a pattern … just saying. ;)

No dream journal for me, I write enough as it is :D

Haha, I think that is plausible.

I can get behind that. An intense fear is a grounding experience, and after that the waking life seems somewhat clearer somehow.

Once upon a time I had a similar dream to be dead:) I was strucked by the lightning.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh, struck to death by gods?! Thor, that would be, or the somewhat equivalent in Finnish mythology: Ukko (which literally means "an old man").

The biggest nonsense bullshit I have ever heard :) and it is mean in alien mythology Carrot😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Well, dream realm is beyond our daily nonsense, so all sorts of bullshit could apply there :D

I'm generally livid during take-off so such a dream would put me off flying completely... glad to see you're alive and well, though it would be worth exploring what is it that scares you about leaving/flying...?

Posted using Partiko Android

though it would be worth exploring what is it that scares you about leaving/flying...?

That's the strange thing: I don't have a particular fear of flying, not even now after the dream, I would say. I've been in airplane twice and was completely fine, and I like to fly in dreams, so it is about something else than the flying itself.

Hi @celestal!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.481 which ranks you at #2037 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 195 places in the last three days (old rank 1842).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 159 contributions, your post is ranked at #36.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

@celestal You have received a 100% upvote from @intro.bot because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

You got a 4.06% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @celestal! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77