Dream Journal #8 - The Cult

in #dream5 years ago

Dream Journal #8

Videogame

We're in a cave on a mountain, everyone is plugging themselves into virtual reality headsets.

The game is a simple first-person shooter. People have jetpacks and the obstacles are simple rectangles. I'd say it was something comparable to fortnite but a low-res-trippy-dream version.


Src


The Cult

When I finally left the cave, I trekked down the mountain and ended up in an abandoned industrial estate, where I ran into a group of people who were worshipping this girl. They were sat in a circle around her so I sat at the back to find out what the crack was.


Src

After the ceremony, they went for a cigarette break on a path away from the ritual grounds as it were. They were telling me about how they were draining the essance of innocent girls to feed their queen. They were extracting girls souls via the videogame!

I take their goddess to the side and ask her why she was doing all this. She had a look of panic on her face, far from the tranquil beuaty she was showing before when they were worshipping her. She tells me about how it's not her choice, it was either this, or she became one of their victims.

I notice her followers starting to look over, as I look back to tell her I better be on my way, I notice a new girl stood next to the idol. This new girl was shorter, plumper, had frizzy black hair and it looked like all the life had been sucked out of her face. She showed no expression, her features were pale. She didn't talk. The deity proceeded to explain how this was one of the cults victims. I felt incredibly sorry for this girl who was now nothing but an empty shell.

I had to get away.


The Lift

After wandering for hours, I found myself in a city, at the very top of a fancy shopping centre. It was a cafe of sorts with glass for walls on the roof, allowing you to see the full cityscape. I started looking for a way down to the ground but couldnt find any stairs. That's when I saw the lift.

I press the bell and the lift arrives instantly. This is not a normal lift however. Most elevators have a shaft with a cage inside, this one had a shaft, witha platform on the end of a very long pole. I could this because the platform didn't stop at floor height, but instead at waist height. This meant I had to clamber onto the platform.

After I got up, I was surprised to see I was sharing with a homeless person, wrapped up in dirty blankets. He wasn't much of a talker, but he did let me know it was a good idea to sit down to enjoy the ride. I sat down.

After pressing the button for the ground floor, and a few seconds of waiting, we plummetted down. The glass was gone and we were in a dingy elevator shaft with very little lighting. The platform started spinning round and round. The spinning, coupled with the speed at which we were falling meant the centrifugal force was pushing my body toward the edge of the platform. It got to the point where the force was too much and I gave in.

I could feel the harsh metal and loose electronics grating against my back, there was nothing I could do but wait for it to finish.


Sponsored ( Powered by dclick )

dclick-imagead

Sort:  

Hello @sisygoboom, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thanks for stopping by!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi, @sisygoboom!

You just got a 0.77% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @sisygoboom!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.519 which ranks you at #6344 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 16 places in the last three days (old rank 6328).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 356 contributions, your post is ranked at #198.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69735.97
ETH 3533.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72