Self-Barbecuing Food On The Street Seoul-Style

in #drinks6 years ago

Seould is an incredibly vibrant city.

It's home to numerous cultural sights, millions of people and a wide range of fantastic food.

cge1nlbv5e.jpg

In this post, I'll choose to focus on the food; specifcally one amazing meal I ate in Seoul.

At the close of my first day in Seoul, I'd started to feel peckish and wanted to find a local restaurant that would offer me a meal that I knew the residents of Seoul might eat casually; not something for tourists, not part of a chain, and nothing too fancy.

I stumbled across a place that had holes in the tables, designed for restaurant-goers to cook their own food.

This was too good to miss, so I gave it a go.

The waitress spoke no English whatsoever, and even my attempts at ordering via Google Translate didn't seem to work. In the end, I just decided to eat whatever she put in front of me.

i6w88m4zxe.jpg

I figured it ws pork, though I was confused by the additional elements that were brought my way:

  • Was the glass for the beer or for the water?
  • What was the silver goblet for?
  • Did I cook the thinly sliced mystery vegetable, or did I eat it raw? [For the record I'm referring to the plate just out of shot, not the onion!]

5wp08rvk3h.jpg

The meal started to come together and I could tell it would be delicious:

wb5swu8zuz.jpg

I'm not sure I've ever had to cut meat with a pair of scissors before, but there's a third time to everything.

np432xmw31.jpg

Despite not really knowing what I was doing or eating, straight down the hatch it went!

Needless to say, it was delicious, despite my best efforts.

d4lw8iibv2.jpg

In the end there wasn't much food left, which can only be a good sign.

Once I was finished I headed to the hostel as night settled in, for a little lie down, some editing and catch ups with people online.... all before heading out to watch the England vs Swedan game in town at 11pm local time.

m1j7w3wql2.jpg


Thanks for reading... I'd love to hear from you and to follow along any journeys of your own, so please feel free to get in touch.

Comment, resteem, like or follow across all #goodwithtravels platforms and I'll do my best to do the same!

Steemit: @goodwithtravels
Instagram: @goodwithtravels
Facebook: @goodwithtravels
YouTube: Videos Coming Soon


Have you been to Seoul?

Are there any particular South Korean foods I should be tasting while I'm here?

I'd love to hear from you.

Sort:  

A great reason to try something unusual. I probably also agreed to take part in such cooking. It looks funny. Interesting story. I wish You a further pleasant journey in Seoul.

Thanks @madlenfox! Rereading this article made me realise how writing up an article at 1am is likely to lead to typos - whoops! Thanks for the kind message though, hope to keep in touch.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71