Is the era of driving really coming to an end?

in #driverless5 years ago (edited)

1024px-AImotive_prototype_Toyota_Prius.jpg

Image source AImotive, via Wikimedia Commons

Driverless cars are coming – but maybe not as quickly as we've been expecting.

An article published on the BBC news website today suggests that the steering wheel might be here for a little while longer.

Author Justin Rowlatt describes a post he wrote last October, in which he suggested that we might all have bought our last cars, as "wildly optimistic".

It wouldn't be the first time that over-optimistic predictions about driverless cars have been made. This 1971 film predicted that driverless "robot cars" could be in everyday use by the year 2000!

I am not enthusiastic about the advent of driverless cars. I have strong reservations about computerised cars, never mind self-driving computerised vehicles.

I'm not saying I would never get into one. I've ridden electric driverless trains. I've taken lifts in highly computerised cars. But I wouldn't feel happy if that was the only way to get about – because computers can be hacked.

I want the option to drive a car that I am in control of. Others may well have a different view, but… whatever happened to consumer choice?

Your fate in their hands


I grew up in Scotland, at a time when nearby Northern Ireland was going through a period of religious conflict and violence. Car bombs were often in the news. With a car bomb, you have a slight chance of detecting it in advance… but what if terrorists were able to hack into your car and drive it over a cliff?

Maybe the chances of this are very slight, and I'm probably a control freak. I don't think I'm important enough for someone to want to get rid of me.


Source Who makes the decisions: you or your robot car?

But there are other concerns. In the comedy film Idiocracy the hero is whisked into a dystopian future where he is pursued by police for not having the right ID. He tries to use a car as a getaway – but the self-driving car simply drives him to the nearest police station.

This might seem far-fetched; hopefully we won't end up living in a police state… but what if your car was a company car and your boss had "dual control"? What if a hacker wanted to steal your car?

I think there are many implications to this technology that we should be aware of before we give up control over our cars.

These issues were not covered in the BBC news article – which ironically refers to a "brave new world of self-driving vehicles". (If you're not familiar with Aldous Huxley's classic novel Brave New World, you won't get the irony!)

Are driverless cars sustainable?


When BBC reporter Justin Rowlatt wrote an article about driverless cars back in October, he invited readers to submit their thoughts on the issue. He said that thousands of people responded – and while many welcomed the idea, many had doubts. Many of these doubts concerned electric cars, as driverless car technology operates using electric cars.

People expressed doubt that there would be enough cobalt or lithium available for all the batteries. But the article quotes an expert saying there is more than enough of these minerals.

What the article does not explore is whether there is enough electricity supply to power billions of electric cars. I would consider this a more important issue, and I wrote about it last year, in this post.


Source Electric cars are portrayed as being "green", but if they're adopted on a mass market scale, where will all the electricity come from to power them?

Even more worrying is the thought that travel itself might be made more difficult. We might be increasingly encouraged to see long-distance travel as an unsustainable and unaffordable luxury.

Safety


Another issue that has been raised in the BBC article – and in many others – is the safety of driverless cars. The article suggests that while driverless vehicles will eventually be safer than human-controlled ones, the technology is not quite there yet.

"It is going to take much longer than 10 years before fully automated vehicles are approved," Justin Rowlatt writes.

I don't think I'd even be happy driving my own car on roads where driverless cars also operate. I'd need a lot of reassurance that these cars really are safe; that one of them won't suddenly go out of control and run my car off the road!

 


 

What are your thoughts on this issue? Would you be happy to give up control of your vehicle to a computer?

 


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://ramblingandscrambling.co.uk/freedom/is-the-era-of-driving-really-coming-to-an-end/

Swirly divider.png

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

Yes driver less cars is an interesting concept. It will be fun to watch and see how everything develops. I think we have quite a long way to go. There are so many accidents in the cars which are being tested today...most of which we don't generally hear about. You are exactly correct...driving is complex, especially with other drivers on the road. (Many of which are unfortunately often impaired )

Not sure about fun - I think it will be chaos to watch! I will certainly avoid anything that can be hacked while it has my life in its hands.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 367 (01/11/19)

I would get excited to ride a self-driving car if it will be available in my country/place @natubat because it means I will not have to contend with dealing in people, just a smartphone and away I go.
I think it will give people more convenience and security.

That's a good point @cryptopie. They definitely have some advantages - I think they just have to get the technology right and make sure they are secure.

Congratulations @natubat! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 500 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 1000

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06