My Halloween Challenge: Vanquishing My Fear of the RoadsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #driving5 years ago (edited)

🎃🕷This reflection on my learner driver experience to date was inspired by a fantastic post I saw on Instagram today, written by someone I know. In this post, she asked people to reflect on their fears, and how they have learned to overcome them (an appropriate theme, for the day that's in it). My answer? This Hallowe’en, I have finally begun to shed my intense fear of driving ... and it feels good. 🚗🚘


This August, I wrote a short post on Steemit about how I was trying to build up the nerve to bite the bullet and book driving lessons. In September, those lessons began at long last. I am 28 years old – I was legally allowed to learn how to drive a full decade ago, but I put it off for so long because driving was never a skill that carried an urgent relevance in my life. As a lifelong city slicker, I’ve grown used to being able to hop on public transport whenever I need to go somewhere. I’ve rarely found myself in a position where I cannot reach my destination by bus or train.

In some ways, I think I should have gotten behind the wheel years ago, but as my wise mother often reminds me, there are no ‘shoulds’ in life. We learn whenever we are truly motivated to learn and we grow whenever we are ready to grow.

The process of learning how to drive has been both daunting and joyful. It has helped me to refine many of my mental skills: how to stay calm when faced with unexpected obstacles, how to be more flexible and sharp in my reactions, and above all … how to have faith in myself, knowing that despite the odd setback, I really can do this.

'We learn whenever we are truly motivated to learn and
we grow whenever we are ready to grow.'

I'm currently just over halfway through my mandatory course of twelve driving lessons. I have yet to decide whether to take my test immediately after the lessons have ended, or wait and build up some more experience. I would ideally like to take the driving test just once and pass it without ever having to book a second one, so I'm inclined to wait until I'm very confident in my abilities.

My driving instructor and I have built up quite a rapport over the past couple of months: there have been times when he has had to really challenge me, and I’ve had to push back when he’s been a little too impatient, but we have a good understanding of one another now. I encountered a number of difficulties during my early lessons: for example, I often panicked while changing gears, forgot which gear was which, and had to glance down at them to check – taking my eyes off the road in doing so. I still have those blank moments when it comes to gears, if I'm being totally honest, but they definitely happen less frequently now.

Steering was another huge problem for me initially: I constantly used to miscalculate how far I had to move the steering wheel, went either too far or not far enough, and ended up in the wrong position on the road as a result. Thank goodness I was always on a quiet, sleepy housing estate when that happened. 🙈

I live on a road right between Phibsboro and Drumcondra, two of Dublin’s most traffic-heavy areas. In previous lessons, my instructor has handled all of the busier roads and junctions around my house, driving me up to quiet estates where I can practise without the fear of running into too many other cars. Today, however, he got me to do all of the driving.

ALL. OF. IT.😱😰



⬆️ Luckily, my lesson didn't go as badly as this. 😂

The second I stepped outside my door and saw him sitting in the passenger’s seat, smiling innocently at me, all I could think was, ‘oh dear God, no…’ 🙈🚗

At the same time, I knew I needed to do it. I needed to challenge myself a little more: to realise that I am, in fact, capable of moving beyond small little housing estates. It helped that my instructor had faith in me: he knew I could handle busy roads without getting him killed!

'Today, I handled myself well on the roads, and I’m
considering that to be a small personal victory.'

I’m trying to do a few things that scare me these days – the #NaNoWriMo challenge, which starts tomorrow, is one of them – and being out in the middle of a busy street, coping with traffic lights, fast-paced junctions, cars streaming past me and pedestrians jaywalking all over the place certainly falls into that category.

When today's lesson had ended at last, and I finally pulled up outside my house again, my instructor mischievously said to me, 'you certainly won't forget that scary Hallowe'en lesson, will you?' All I could do was laugh. But I was proud too. Today, I handled myself well on the roads, and I’m considering that to be a small personal victory. ❤️

During one of my early lessons, my instructor shared an amazing story about a past student of his: a 70-year-old woman who, when faced with the tragedy of her husband’s death, had taken it into her hands to learn how to drive. Her husband had always driven when the couple needed to travel, as she was too scared to learn. And yet – in the face of her overwhelming grief, and the anxiety she had undoubtedly felt at being a learner driver at such an advanced stage of her life – this woman took the wheel and eventually triumphed in her test.

Whenever I falter, I remember her great courage … and I drive on.


Road and Track

___________________

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

InstaBanner

Sort:  

hehehe ! this was fun ! ... big props in overcoming your fear there , it all comes down to experience .. there was a particular time where I drove for hours a day.. now I don't have a car so I pretty much live in buses but.. yeah.. I also remember the first driving lesson ( in Ecuador... crazy) .. being thrown into the traffic when I had just learned how to change gears 10 minutes before.. hahaha.. definitely nerve wrecking! Happy halloween btw :)

Oh wow, @pechichemena, that sounds intense! My lessons have developed much more gradually than that. But I guess there is something to be said for diving right into the deep end... 😂

Thank you so much for sharing your story here! I think its great to hear how others face challenges head on, and I love your idea for this overall challenge and using Halloween as inspo to write about facing your fears. Very clever, and a lovely post too.

Congratulations @aislingcronin! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 100 replies. Your next target is to reach 200 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Ah Jaysus another Dub on Steemit! Used to live around the fairview area so know that area well. Traffic is mad there. Would he not teach you in phoenix park, the bowsie

Hello, fellow Dub. Haha, there has been no talk of going to Phoenix Park so far! I appreciate having the chance to tackle busy traffic, though – if I don't challenge myself, I'll never get any better.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

In for the Penny and in for the pound . I’m not a bleed n Dub how very dare you! I’m from Tiobraid Arann

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh dear! 😝 I thought you meant you were from Dublin as well. Tipp North or Tipp South?

South of course. The sunny part

Posted using Partiko iOS

Great that you are doing it finally! I had also started a few months ago and also did better then I thought, but I have to save up some more before I can continue. It's fun isn't it?

The fear of doing it is far worse than the actual driving itself. 😂 It is starting to feel fun, yes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87