Finding beauty on a construction site with 360 degree aerial images

in #drone5 years ago

DJI_0009.jpg

Exploring the various panoramic features my drone has to offer this weekend I came across the 'sphere' feature which is also known as the 'Tiny Planet' feature!

It creates the image you can see below by shooting multiple images in every direction and then stitching them together.

DJI_0995.jpg

I open this image in GIMP (a free photoshop alternative) and tweak it a little to create the sphere.

From this:

full.jpg

To this:

Sam's tiny planet.jpg

My own tiny planet!

You can also invert the scenery, creating something quite strange!

IMG1695.png

Or even stranger...

DJI_00092.jpg

...or stranger still!

DJI_00091.jpg

At sunset

I had to know what it looked like!

From this:

sunset.jpg

To this:

sunset pano tiny planet.jpg

Or this:

sunset pano square planet.jpg

Or even this!

Screen Shot 20190909 at 16.00.09.png

'Normal' panoramas

Of course the DJI Mavic 2 pro does also have some panoramic features which don't resemble another dimension. The standard horizon shot (comprised of nine shots) shows the full construction site in a single image.

Yorkshire panorama.jpg

I am looking forward to seeing this solar farm complete! The solar panels arrive one week from now... and things are about to get busy around here.

I will be ready ;)

final sunset.jpg

Who is @samstonehill?

He was a London based filmmaker until he sold everything and set out on a barefoot journey around the world, currently based in the south of France.

He is travelling with his partner & two children and with no bank account he has been living on STEEM & crypto for over two years.

old banner.jpg

Sam supports @naturalmedicine because they are seeking to help us in ways which go far beyond money. Please come and join us on Discord

ec08b62bddb542269ece7cda7e763d784ea87db8.gif

All content created for this account is 100% original (unless otherwise stated), produced by @samstonehill who invites you to use & share freely as you wish.

imageedit_1_5527523249.png

All non original photo sources can be found by clicking on the image

Sort:  

Thanks, Sam: I will try to play too with Gimp... you have really intrigued me!

This guy explains how to do it on GIMP ;)

Enjoy!

Thank you very much: I'll see it!
!BEER

Cool! Thanks :)

If I can reciprocate the pleasure of sharing a cool video, I suggest you this one:


This video serves as a good reminder of why it is important to know WHAT happened... enjoy it!

Thanks for this. Am curious now to know more about the proposed energy weapon. Or energy tool I should say, being used as a weapon.

It goes with my understanding of how the ancients created stone blocks with perfect symmetry, as if they had once been a liquid, or powder, inside a casting mould. Perhaps the same technology?

Follow this path, Sam: it's really interesting!

Irrefutable.TV

Enjoy!

I am enjoying! A very interesting new look at it. One I had missed until now. Many thanks. A worthy swap for the GIMP video!

Am assuming this YouTube channel is the best for further info on the subject?

To view or trade BEER go to steem-engine.



Hey @samstonehill, here is your BEER token. Enjoy it!

a new perspective this gives in photography

It sure does! I think I am in love with my new toy :)

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @torico.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Thanks very much!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Much appreciated :)

Fascinating - and thanks.

As for GIMP, I have used it for many years and I do not understand why anyone would pay the high prices charged by art programs when GIMP does it all and is for free.

Excellent you are already on the GIMP bandwagon. I have resisted buying photoshop for so long and now I know why. I discovered GIMP just two days ago when I was researching how to make spheres from the 360degree images. And as you say, it does everything you need it to! Brilliant.

Cracking shots GIMP is great although not used it in ages. Got yourself a few little icons there as a bonus 💯🐒

I was thinking that myself! Tiny planet icons.

I tried one where I was much closer to the camera but it distorted my body. Still kinda cool though;)

Distorted sam.jpg

Yer like it works well 💯🐒

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63722.47
ETH 3049.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.03