You bought me WHAT???

in #dropintheocean6 years ago
Merry Christmas to all, and to all a good night. ~Clement Clarke Moore


Our Christmas present from our friends overseas had been sitting in customs for a long time. How long you might ask? We just received our gifts on May 4.


Filled with relief that the shipment hadn't been lost, we cut the ties and ripped open the cardboard box. Though the room was filled with the heat of the sunny May day, it might as well have been a snowy Christmas morning. I couldn't wait to see what treasures were waiting for me inside!


My heart stopped dead as I lifted a box that was clearly an inappropriate thing for me to be receiving. My husband, smirking, (thank God for his sense of humor) said, “Maybe it's just a funny box to hide something else inside?”


I opened. Revealed. “Nope.”


Shaken, but not stirred – I continued. The next box was even more embarrassing. It HAD to be a joke. No one could honestly send that??? I opened the box, wide-eyed. My husband took out the instructions, searching for some word or picture that would clear our confusion.


I took it back from him. Reboxed. “Nope.”


The final straw was a third item – that seemed like a stuffed toy that, hmmm.... seemed to fit the theme of the previous two gifts.


My emotions went from shock, to humor, to confusion, to humor, to anxiety, to irritation.


My husband (thank God for his sense of calm) kept telling me it was probably some misunderstanding. For the life of me, I couldn't see how THOSE three gifts could possibly be a misunderstanding.


That night – we all talked. I thanked them for the gifts, and then..... gently asked who chose which gifts.


And this is why context is important. You didn't think I was going to get to this week's Drop in the Ocean topic, did you? We have arrived.

I won't tell you the details, because it's not important. I will say this. We laughed almost to the point of passing out – for twenty minutes. All of us.


After a few gentle questions from me, they stated the answers without a hint of mischief. Language barriers and cultural barriers are very real. When I hinted at the fact that Americans see at least one of the gifts in a slightly different light, the giggles began. Giggles then turned into side-splitting laughter in a matter of of seconds when I explained the American connotation of the gift.


I know that you want to know.... but I'm not going to tell you. I'm shaking with laughter as I type this but the point is CONTEXT.


It is so important to step back from situations and understand the context of a situation before reacting. Hastily made judgments serve no one. It is always best to hear both sides of the story before coming to your own conclusion. This principle applies in many situations and in almost every aspect of your life. Take the time to pause. Be willing to laugh and have grace. Use understanding and wisdom as you investigate matters. The context should always be considered before you weigh the evidence.


No, I'm still not telling. For those that do know, laugh with me and be silent, please. (you know who you are)


Parcel Image Source Confusion Image Source

Sort:  

TELL ME WHAT THE GIFT WAS!!! OMG Dreemie you're killing me. I will beat it out of you eventually.

Plus, I'm still mad at you for getting me addicted to Fireflies.

As for your wisdom on CONTEXT - so true and a really great reminder that we shouldn't jump to conclusions or let our emotions run away with us before we know the full story.

XXXOOO

Lololol!!!!! All I can say is.... I'll see you at DITO today ???? Wink wink. 😂😂😂😂

😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉

oh.
my.
gosh.
LOLOLOLOLOLOL now i DO see hahahahahahahahahah you're crazy!!! LOLOL

Hi @dreemsteem, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Join us on Thursdays for Pimp Your Post Thursday at 11am EDT or 7PM EDT in the Steemit Ramble Discord or:

If you’d like to nominate someone’s post just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord

hahahahahahahaha well i'm glad you enjoyed it @shadowspub!!! LOL it was pretty comical! :) i hope you chuckled. hehehe

i'll go read your post now ;)

Damn, I really want to know what you got! But you're right with this bit:

It is so important to step back from situations and understand the context of a situation before reacting. Hastily made judgments serve no one.

So important to take a deep breath, assume people are acting from the best intentions, and try not to take offense. 💖

LOLOLOLOL it was pretty hysterical.... if you see me in a room sometime - maybe I'll whisper it to you and @snook LOLOLOL

and yep - cool heads prevail :)

You and me both @katrina-ariel!!!!!!!!!!!

and I just copied the same quote you did too so @dreemsteem..........

just read @katrina-ariel's comment 2 times :D

But I STILL WANT TO KNOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :D

hahahahahahaha mayyyyyyyyyyybe i'll tell! :)

MAYBE! lol

but not on here. hahahaha

Then we are 3 cause I'm dying here 😉 looove to know what it is...... 👉👂👈 LOL

yes mam!!!! i'll whisper it to you both of you two ;) heheheeh you will giggle!!!!

I can't stop myself from asking as well what was the content of the box? lol

ROFLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL @lymepoet!!!!!! and this was the big discussion at DITO today and they MAY or MAY NOT have gotten it out of me hehehehe

where were you!!! LOL i was looking forward to seeing you friend :)
but I presented your post for you since I had read it before the show hehehe

Thank you! My son was sick and i could not make it. Sorry!

hehehehe of course! I just wanted you to know that you were missed! <3

Thank you! My son was sick and i could not make it. Sorry!

This made me smile a lot and the way you write makes me feel what you felt 😉 not a gift you were expecting... Lol
I'm dying to know what the gift really was 😀
Can you tell? Will you tell? 😂😂 Lol
Love you much eather way dreamy 🤗💕💖

hehehehehee next time we talk in DM (soon - as soon as your life calms down a little bit hehehe) i will whisper it in your year ;)

I am silently rolling on the floor...

hehehehehee hey! i left a comment for you this morning and it disappeared!!!!! LOL

maybe i didn't actually hit post!

but hehehehehe yesssssssssss i knew you would be LOLOLOLOL

I hate discord. 5 minutes? more?

Screen Shot 2018-07-12 at 15.08.42.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71