A Digression...but from what?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #dropintheocean5 years ago (edited)

Photo by pixel2013 and then ironically modifed on 'Word Swag'

“When Sleeping Beauty wakes,
she’s almost 50 years old”

Said some brilliant woman...
that could have been me...
but wasn’t

Why though? Why do I get
THOSE words?
Surely, someone else
Didn’t get them...
And before me...
I’m only JUST
Almost 50
And the woman
Who spoke them
Wrote them
Felt them
Knew them...

She died...in 2014
She lived in the same years
As my mum

Sadly my mum died much sooner
And before that
She’d left me anyway
Well most of her
The twinkle in her eye
Was there
Just fainter and you had to look

The words had already gone
No voice
Left
But, I digress...

Where were we?
Boundaries —-
Reestablished —- see it
S-T-R-E-T-C—Her off

“We are, each of us, our own prisoner.
We are locked up in our own story.”

Again those quotation marks shoot like a gun...
Patt- Patt-Patt
I remember as a child
That other me
Who played
And
Dressed up
In a cowboy hat
Or was I the policeman?
I played with D
(full name left out just in case this poem should go viral)

Now see there what I did?
Yet again...
I digressed.
It’s easy to go off path
But that’s ‘Little Red Riding Hood’
Not sleeping beauty - so much more adventurous
She's perhaps the scarier of the two
Well for some...anyway
That was a little ‘in joke’ as we weren’t
Meant to talk about FAIRY TALES
And I just did

I flew instead of dropped
Into the Ocean
A mermaid with wings
Now where were we?
Digression is the topic
Maxine Kumin
The poet
I just https://www.poemhunter.com/poem/together-54/
Linked into you

Her words, my words, my mum’s words...
Sisters...
We’ve heard them
Felt them - wrote them

Was them

“When Sleeping Beauty wakes,
she’s almost 50 years old”

And so...

Now what?
Do I wear purple?

We are,
each of us,
our own prisoner.
We are locked up in our own story...
""
Okay! I thought I’d see if you’d notice

My words on a different day...

But today’s word was/is DIGRESSION
And I did
So much so
I’m now dizzy!

Thanks for reading. Today’s post was written for the writing group #dropintheocean and was inspired by this week’s word Digression and not in the slightest by the not chosen topic of ‘Fairy Tales’. Maybe they (the tales) might be a contender for next week.

If you’re interested in finding out the answer to this latest cliff hanger, then drop over to discord and @buddyup on Monday night...especially if you’re another sleeping beauty just about to wake. 😉 Or better yet...woken.

Sort:  

wonderful work, Miss!

Thanks Blue. I appreciate you taking the time to read and comment. Gold star! ⭐️

Is Miss @dreemsteem kidding?
Are you doing an Audio version?
I'd love to hear it!!!

she read it at DITO and brought the house down from what I heard! :) @juliamulcahy - let's talk about dsound tomorrow!! :)

You know me, always willing to learn something new ❤️

this was great! very long and lovely detail of events ... the topic of digression was certainly a good one. i think we all got into it. :)

Thanks @eaglespirit. It was a fun assignment and brought with it such different pieces.

Ahhh I loved this @juliamulcahy!! I loved your take on the topic of digression... so very creative indeed!!

As a writer I know all about digression... sometumes necessary but will sometimes leave you standing there scratching your head saying huh??? Lol

Absolutely! Hopefully, my poem didn't leave you scratching your head too much. Lol!

I often detour and digress. I think it's part of my makeup.

Thanks for reading this aloud for us ... I enjoyed that so much!! And you didn't leave me scratching my head at all ... we may speak in the same language of detouring and digression lol

I really loved the poem and all the digressions give so much more to it, so many parts that can become their own story. Just like the tales, and I am sure you can work the word astonish into a tale, it seems quite fitting ;)

Thanks @penderis. I’m really enjoying Drop In the Ocean Monday night’s. It’s great to feel so welcomed. The group is so different and multi talented. Looking forward to spinning some new ideas around for next week’s word.

Amazing work!!

I always admire people who are great with words and transcribe it to peoms. Just lovely dear!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @maquemali, that’s so lovely of you x

Amazing, @juliamulcahy So, so deep and then so witty and playful. Your flow is beautiful and so fluid.

I am such a fan of your writing - I hope some of that fairy dust rubs off on me ;)

Happy to sprinkle but ‘when you have wings’ of your own and a sparkle to match, methinks you may be a fairy already. I certainly see the glitter in your words. 🧚‍♀️

Aww I really appreciate your supportive words and inspiration, @juliamulcahy

I look forward to reading your posts and words - they always take me on a deeper journey of the mind and heart.

waiting for the audio version of this!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

dying for the audio version of this!!!!!!!!!

oh my gosh :) hehehehehe I'm never going to write for DITO again. Just gonna come watch the master. hehehehehe

cracking up (still in my bed on retreat! LOL) loving you from afar!

Excellent job - really truly thoroughly enjoyed this!

I may need help learning how to use DSound but I'll wait until you return.

Enjoy the ocean x

I really loved this and really, really loved hearing you read this in the "Drop In The Ocean" podcast.
Ren

Thanks Ren. It was my first (successful) voice attempt. Now I know that I have to hold down my 'alt' key, it makes more sense.

I totally get that. I was having a full convo the other day and my hand were talking right along. Haha. It was fabulous! Absolutely brilliant! When i realized the issue, i simply answered, "yes." Haha

Congratulations @juliamulcahy! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 200 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard Contest Teaser
The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87