Got a fag?

in #dropintheocean5 years ago (edited)

Looking apologetically at his friend, Mike continues "I really thought he would like you, John. It seemed like a sure match, I was having a smoke and here comes this guy asking for a fag. You know I am a nice guy, can't help but help when I can."

But I digress...

Actually, I did not since there was no main topic to begin with. I think I have used that phrase before just to sound like I enjoy cucumber sandwiches. It is one of those phrases that makes the person you are talking to think you know what you are saying, referring to the main topic that is, digression can almost be seen as a skill worth learning either to digress so much that the main topic is forgotten. Very similar to being stoned, or to digress because the topic is boring.

Those are obviously not hard and fast rules. A digression in literature I think can be used to either add more information or to take the reader on a journey of discovery illustrating the way you came to the conclusions you did. Digression I imagine should though return to the main point, and it might seem that you pick up from where you left off but like a train you always have stowaways and upon arrival, there may be a few more people to either shoot or punch. It really depends on the era.

The first thing I noted when googling digression is that it referred to only writing and speech, I thought this is a bit limiting but soon found that there are synonyms we use for the other things. Immediately I felt better.

For me to even demonstrate the topic of digression I would need a topic. I do wonder whether distraction can be considered a digression while working. I tend to start writing things, comments, numbers of important phone calls but very easily get distracted and never finish doing that, sometimes I return but other times I can't remember who called.



why should the fish be dead.pngWhy should my fishy be dead?



Ok for a topic...

John looks at his friend and gives him a pat on the back, he understands completely but was not going to let Mike get off so easily. "You know that can be considered hate speech right? I can have you both arrested," he could not because he knew the other guy just wanted a smoke, and he could not because he knew that Mike had no culture and did not enjoy cucumber sandwiches. It did not make the pathetic expression Mike had any less funny though.

"No, John. Honest! I did not mean it like that, I don't hate you, dude. I just thought you might like a good bumming." Mike watches as John takes a step back, he could see he did not expect him to say that. John questions furiously but with a restraint, only those who carry umbrellas on sunny days can manage. "What?"

Starting to break into a hysterical laugh, Mike answers "I have lived in the UK for a year now you twat, you think I don't know when someone wants a smoke? I work hard for my cancer I was not just going to give it to him."



Thanx to @meesterboom that word has been stuck in my head, I have actually been surprised when someone asked me for a fag, and it turns out it is a bit of another side the railway way of asking for a smoke, or greenie.



I am Penderis and proud to be part of @BuddyUp if you wish to know more about this great community head over to our BuddyUP server. You can do this by following the SafeLink post here.




We all grow together


BuddyUp Avatar

Sort:  

Heh. And I say I digress all the time, and I'm not obsessed with cucumber sandwiches. Wait a second... You didn't say I had to be obsessed with them, you just said I need to like them.

Shoot, you hit the nail on the head. Not much I can do 'bout it though.

But I digress ;)

I'm going to stop here because if I don't I'm going to write a 500+ word comment and won't have time to write a post today.

Lol one of my faves as well, but i digress! 🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

Glad you stopped, because I got to enjoy a post instead. :)

I certainly did not realize that cancer sticks were called fags.

Not only do I say I digress all the time but I actually do digress all of the time... and I have never had a cucumber sandwich so I'm not sure what that means lol

Am I out of the club cause I've never had a cucumber sandwich??

Cucumber sandwich is just how I refer to uppity English haha, I heard it a few years ago and loved it. I always enjoy a new way to refer to an entire section of people. Like infidel such a nice word.

Haha no real need to announce that you digress, I am sure people figure it out . If not screw 'em

So... If I try a cucumber sandwich and I like it... does that mean I'm uppity?? hahaha ... it is an awesome way to refer to uppity, it sounds like something uppity people would eat. I agree I've always liked the word infidel!!

25b554ae7a7be76f26e648b679917eff.jpg

Lol again best wing man ever!! Also look there is a giraffe on your head!

Posted using Partiko Android

Made me look :) ... Yes always the wingman never the prize

maybe you should try being the bridesmaid! I hear they always score!

nicely done penderis! love your take on this and it was a total digression

Noice. Yip, I believe in total digressions, half a digression is very close to quitting. If I go into the woods I may as well be eaten by a bear... ok maybe a 75% digression so I can tell people I almost died.

Cucumber sandwiches and fags. Now that's some recipe! Have experienced both, but then I'm from the UK and both mean something different there.

Cucumber sandwiches are for afternoon tea and a cigarette is often better when had with a cuppa.

Found your post wacky and wonderful and felt dizzy all over again.

Then I may just have the trick, since I only drink coffee I shall have a cucumber sandwich, a cuppa then a fag and Queenie can't call me a buffoon... Allowed to smoke around the Queen? haha neither here nor there.

Thank you for the information, the best wacky is informed wacky :)

I actually do enjoy a cucumber sandwich on occasion. 😂

Never had them myself, it is my "derogatory" phrase I use to refer to pompous English.

I like them when they've been in a salad with salad dressing still on them. Next time you have a salad with them included, throw a few on a slice of bread and try it out. ✔

I always enjoy all your twists and turns in that imagination of yours, Pen. I enjoy the unexpected. Pushing the envelop with a little extra meaning.

@gifbot bob dylan

Thank you, but maybe I need to not push the envelope, open it and I might just find what I need without struggling with the silly tiny slit that was clearly not made for normal envelopes or if it was it is for skinny bitch envelopes.... Thank you.

:) Maybe there is no envelop at all and is only a construct of closed minds

LOL I almost shared this same clip with you earlier :) Perfect

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99