Letters of admiration ~Drop in the Ocean: Admiration

in #dropintheocean5 years ago (edited)

“Hello…”

“Hi, hi Mark?”

“Hi, this is Mark… Mom?”

“Hi, yes. How are you son?”

“I am doing well, thank you Mom. How are you?”

“I am doing well also. I just wanted to call and say hi.”

“Then you succeeded, you already said hi.” Mark says with a cheeky laugh.

“Hey, Hey…” Jennifer responds in a stern voice, “You are never too old for a hiding young man.”

“Haha, and who will be giving me a hiding?” Mark laughs jokingly.

“Don’t let me come over there and show you.” Jennifer tries to say sternly before breaking out into a laugh herself.

“I get the tea ready so long,” Mark replies with his laugh trailing off.

In a distant reminiscing voice Jennifer replies: “Yes, we do need to have a nice visit. It has been too long my boy. Now, really how are you doing?”

In his best reassuring voice, Mark answers: “ I am doing well Mom, I got a new job and there is this girl…”

Unable to control her excitement Jennifer shrieks “Oooh, a girl and a new job. I only hear about this now? No, wait. Tell me, tell me everything!..”


13 August 2019

Mom.

Can I just say how weird it is to be writing with a pen and paper, no backspace makes you really think consider your words more carefully for one thing.

Thank you so much for the call yesterday, it made me so happy to be able to talk without any problems messing anything up. It honestly has been going well for me, as I told you on the phone. I have found somewhat of a balance and I am much better at handling things. I know I told you all of this yesterday. I just want to assure you that I am truly happy.

I think that made you feel much better, hearing that I am finally doing well?

It really was great getting to talk about life and everything with you. Like two old ladies chattering :) I know it would seem out of sorts for me...but I love you Mom. Isn't it odd how I struggle to say or write that without feeling like a little schoolboy being humiliated in front of his friends because his mom insists on a goodbye hug and kiss?

Mom, did you also know that I admire you? I admire you for always being there for me, but mostly for always being strong. I have never been as good at life as Jared and Mercia. I hope they are thankful for the strength they inherited from you Mom.

I admire you for keeping us children after Dad left. I know it was not easy, and you are the most amazing mother for having brought up three children, making them feel safe, providing for us and teaching us. I am sorry for not always doing what I knew I should. I am sorry for not just calling when I know you would be there to help me through my difficulties.

I am sorry that this is starting to sound a bit open yet insincere. I guess writing does that to thoughts.

I love that you are my Mom. I want you to know that the call was one of the happiest moments in my life, after the years of disappointment and sadness I have caused you. I finally got to just tell you that everything is well. I did not have to ask you for anything. I was not the cause of tears to you. Giggling to myself now I always remember how you tried to never seem sad when I was around, even now as a grown-up, you never want me to think you are disappointed in me.

I may have written a lot but know that for every word there are a thousand I could not find the words for. I hope you remember me as happy, think of our call Mom. I know you will be sad for a while, but just think of how well I did, think about our last conversation and the laughs we got to share...

I love you Mom. xoxo


12 August 2019
My dearest Mark.

My boy. I am really glad to hear how well life is going for you, I told you. Eventually, you will find what works for you. Until then we can only keep trying. The losses have always hit you hard and I understood that. I fear it may be because you compared yourself to your brother and sister. Just know I love you all the same, but know that you are still unique little creatures :)

Especially you, my son. I have always admired your creativity and ability to share how you felt. I just wish I could have done more at times to make what you felt not to be unhappiness and frustration. I would like to blame your father leaving for many things, and although it hurt you a lot I don't think it is fair to blame him.

I always thought I had to be strong for my children, especially you Mark. I did not ever want to let you see me unhappy, I did not want to be the over emotional single mother. I heard the joy in your voice today, that warmed my heart beyond belief. I heard how proud you were of your life now, how hopeful you were for the future.

That makes me admire you even more you know. You have struggled with a lot of things, and maybe in your mind, you have failed at them all. Please know that in my eyes you have never failed, my boy you are a fighter and have fought your way to happiness. Each and every time.

Your brother and sister don't speak to me anymore. It might sound bad to say but they take too much after me. I feel like they resent me for your Father leaving since they were young it was not that they did not need me it felt more like they did not want me to be there for them.

You always needed and wanted me to be there for you Marky, I loved that and appreciated it. I appreciated that you made me felt like a good mother, that is your gift, my Son. You make people feel good about themselves, I am happy now you are finally feeling good about yourself.

You might find a bit of humour in the fact that I tried to not say I love you every few sentences, a weird time to not be doting.

Remember me as I was in our last call my sweet boy, I have loved you all my life and will be with you after. Keep finding your happiness and know how very proud I am of you... The sadness will pass, because you are a fighter, and you are better than us because you are honest about how you feel. That is something many can learn from you Son.

There is so much more I wish to say, but I know if there is anyone that can fill in the spaces it is you.

I love you eternally my little creature, Mom.





Drop in the Ocean is a topical based show we have in the @BuddyUp discord every monday, you can join here and find out more. This weeks topic was ADMIRATION | Next weeks topic is DEDUCTION
Paper Texture | Read on Whaleshares

Sort:  

Hi penderis,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you :)

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

A very nice post!
Manually curated by @free-reign.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Thanx @free-reign and helpie, one of the few that still read on the chain :)

Congrats on your latest Curie!

It is entertaining and your writing is perfectly understood, I congratulate you on your effort, I will read more about you on Steemit :D

I wish I was able to talk to my mom like this. It's a beautiful letter that he sends to her and her response is so warm and full of love. Sometimes we might perceive things differently than they really are and it is good to hear a different perspective, like in this case the situation with his brother and sister.

I really enjoyed how you captured the emotions between a mother and her son.

Thank you for sharing and I wish you a very nice day!

Agreed speaking to a parent or any person like this is sucky. Makes me squirm to just think about it. Then again it depends on the situation. I think if you look at the dates of the letters and consider the closing for each then the situation might be a bit more evident.

I definitely struggled trying to convey emotion or connection so it is nice to kow that succeeded a tad. Thanx for reading :)

Hi, @penderis!

You just got a 0.16% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

I felt like there was something I missed, but that was certainly unique. That had to have been difficult for you to write. It would have for myself, as well

Posted using Partiko Android

It depends whether you feel it is an exchange of letters between mother and son. Then again I thought about it, that people seem to find it very feel good and I would say there is something that I intended which then does not translate... Not sure if I should be that needy prick and add a proper closing paragraph or reword a bit but then again let people read it how they want it to make them feel as for the emotional or difficult part the only hard part was structuring it as I have nothing personal vested in this piece. The mother is the opposite of mine and I would say mark is also the opposite of me when it comes to us children. Thanx for reading :)

yes, your second sentence is what I was alluding to. I also noticed your reply to someone else that seemed to express the same sentiment

Posted using Partiko Android

The mothers letter was written before the sons letter. Both of their last paragraphs I tried to make a bit more "It will get better." What will get better? If they just had this great conversation and everything is well... Well my idea was yet my execution maybe failed that these are suicide letters.

ok, I see. I will have to read again. It did seem off with how over-emotional they were

Posted using Partiko Android

ok, I see it now. I think I was thinking that Mark was suicidal, but then I got lost after the Mother's letter. Very creative, friend

Posted using Partiko Android

I never picked up on that TBH. But now knowing it, I read it again and even with that new information, I still say it's a very nice post. Nice as in the emotional feeling I get that each knew the other loved them. That was a step forward, regardless of what came next.

In some cultures and in some families expressing feelings openly is a no-no. Whether people read it as weakness or embarrassment is subject to argument; the point is many people wait until the very last moment to express their love for their family and friends.
You got the two voices very distinctively. Great job

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86