Too cool for school.

in #dropintheocean5 years ago (edited)

I have not attempted to write any fiction for some time now. That is. Just wanted to get it out.


At school we use to say if someone had 10 more IQ points they would have the IQ of a brick. Our school was proper and good. We were separated according to grades, unlike the hooligan hippy schools that had mixed classes. From my early days, it was also evident you would get a much harder beating for not doing well in school over not doing well in sports.

Although that just meant my sister suffered twice since I never did well at sports, doing badly was no biggy for me.

But she sucked at school and once in a while would suck at sports which she usually did well in, and that meant being told to stand still so you can be beaten stupid for not running fast enough.


Emotional Retard

These days when speaking about intelligence I think a lot of people will point out that IQ is not the end-all and be-all of in intelligence. There are quite a few factors that contribute to someone's success... Yeah I am emotionally retarded so this has no value to me, it just means I need to be smarter than the next empathetic asshole.

When I say someone is intelligent or smart I don't point out that my judgement is based on their ability to communicate how they feel. Then I would sip my beer and take a drag from my fag, and say: "Hey, that guy is a bit of a poof ain't he." Now intelligence would maybe be if I knew what I would call a girl under the same circumstances.


Fair enough, EQ and IQ do work together in the long term. EQ contributes to things like shutting your yap when questioned by the police and there is no need to be saying anything. Is there, Johnny? Not very smart of you Johnny. You acted very pessimistically**8 and showed no desire to help us or yourself succeed**10

Items takens from 10 Qualities of an Emotionally Intelligent Person

I think there are a few items on that list that belong in the IQ department and a few that just make me gag with what a wonderfully upstanding well-balanced pill popper you have to be too taut them as qualities.


Sick of that

Let me get some points down about intelligence, the old fashioned kind. Not this new age hokum. The old way was wholly unfair, inaccurate and had me dead centre on above average. Which is strangely accurate because on average people do think I am quite smart. Just the other day someone told me I clean up nicely. The counter was spotless I tell you, no sign of the coffee I spilt.

I can ramble on about intelligence and my thoughts maybe touch on the other definitions and ask a hard-hitting question like "Why do we even need government intelligence?" You will obviously retort and somewhere mention the Chinese.

Heck, you might not have read this far purely because of the supposed, ok maybe definitely derogatory terms I used above. I can point out that I do think the terms "book smart" and "street smart" are probably the simplest ways of categorizing people and the obvious default is :

Stupid

Depending on who is reading this. I am stupid. I don't know if the world has anything against the word but I have noticed an increase in flinching when I say someone is stupid, braindead, I am trying to use the nice ones here.

But yeah stupid just covers the bases so well any others I might use is merely not to repeat myself in the same sentence. I have nothing against the word or the use of it, we do stupid shit and say stupid shit and calling someone stupid does not mean shit.

I don't live their life I don't know what stupidity they will get up to next, it could very well be less stupid than just standing here in front of me listening to me calling them stupid while deciding whether this is a narration or monologue, second person or first?

Well? Johnny, do you know? Of course not. You are stupid. Just go, ok!


Quiz - Do you agree?

This thief is smart.
The inmates are stupid.
Gorillas are clever.
The Rover is intelligent.
This guy is an idiot.
Plants are intelligent.
Are we human, or are we...




All politicians, "influencers" , the news and people who disagreed with a single item in the quiz are:







Drop in the Ocean is a topical based show we have in the @BuddyUp discord every monday, you can join here and find out more. This weeks topic was INTELLIGENCE | Images are my own



Read on Whaleshares

Sort:  

The worse STUPID is DANGEROUSLY STUPID imo...otherwise, the generally stupid population is becoming less bothersome to me :>) after working hard at being able to disregard them.

Haha yes stupid enough to be dangerous... I use that when someone asks my skill level at something. But dangerously stupid in society is a scary thing, how long the generally stupid will remain uninfected I do not know. Till then I agree disregarding people is always a good choice. Thank you for the tip :)

This post is supported by $0.31 @tipU upvote funded by @angryman :)
@tipU voting service: instant, profitable upvotes + profit sharing tokens | For investors.

Hi, @penderis!

You just got a 0.15% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Well, if the guy prevents the stack of boxes from falling before dropping them, I don't think he's too dumb. Probably saved himself a second trip :)

Your posts are always taking the reader into a totally unexpected direction. That's why I enjoy reading them whenever I get a chance. Thanks for the resteem! Be well!

Congratulations @penderis! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 4000 comments. Your next target is to reach 4500 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76