DrugWars— 12hr Shield from Bottom Feeders

in #drugwars5 years ago (edited)

Screenshot 2019-03-03 at 2.09.01 PM.png

The 12hr Shield may be the best feature added by DrugWars to keep them at bay. I didn't see the purpose before but it's possibly the only way to to quell $STEEM Bottom Feeders


I was a bit sceptical about the new 12hr Shield after battles was implemented by @drugwars, especially after reading this in 'Are the makers of DrugWars high?' posted by @geekpowered:

The idiots have decided to incorporate a shield system, whereby anyone that is attacked successfully will be shielded for 12 hours after.

I can only think that they didn't think this through.

See, the second that battles are enabled, people will be waiting to attack all the best targets. Then, as soon as those battles are won, shields will go up. Then they will have to go after targets that are a bit less tasty. Those in turn will be shielded as well.

Although I don't agree with his sentiment (language) towards #DrugWars, he had a solid point. Which I later experienced first hand; battles went live and my skanty army was attacked instantly.

First @fundsteem then @lishu (both are ranked in the top 800's):


Screenshot 2019-03-03 at 1.58.30 PM.png

How did they find me?

In this new version of DrugWars, the 'Find a Target' page is very convenient and keeps the game fair by matching you up with similar ranked players:


Screenshot 2019-03-03 at 2.01.03 PM.png

I know what your thinking, so if the battle's are fairly matched then how did they find me on my first day? That's the funny part; I don't know. They probably saw my dMania meme yesterday letting everyone know I'm joining the fun...

After seeing that, they likely targeted me immediately. (It's what bottom feeders do.)

*Or maybe it's my fault for being so naive and posting that meme in the first place, creating a huge target on my head.

Nope.

Reflection: What's good for one is good for all.

The ability to attack someone directly and the 12hr shield may be the best feature combo to keep DrugWars interesting and fair for the long term. I'm gonna stick it through and can't wait to get my units up and get vengeance in the near future.

On the flip-side, hopefully this kind of activity doesn't run away the weak handed; getting stepped on on your first day and starting with 2 losses can be very deterring.

Has this happened to you, did Bottom Feeders take your stash?

Let me know in the comments.


Build your empire and earn #STEEM, join DrugWars



15807.png


More Steem

logo_alpha_256.png

C3TZR1g81UNaPs7vzNXHueW5ZM76DSHWEY7onmfLxcK2iPJM6dC6pfYbfhtrTYiLZXchgpJeKRbLePSZkMeBPkHGFdsDpeEXjTkkM2HrboDoS6AD7ULMb9Y.png


DQmXnWeEUFhNgRoanPWZ7o1sqWfUyZhjEn2NPcBXg4KFc9t_1680x8400 (1) (1).png

Title-Art & Img Credits: Me— unless otherwise noted.
These are my personal opinions, not financial advice

Sort:  

You’re DrugWars Pro!

I’ll be sending people in your way who wants to learn more about it

Thanks Nathan, started late but I try my best. I've played drugwars/dopewars since the 90's on MS DOS, it's cool to have it come back better than ever— on the #STEEM blockchain.

I'll be posting tips regularly on all Steem DApps I use and I'm here to assist anyone who needs a few pointers or motivation.

Thanks again bro

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @donald.porter! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 800 comments. Your next target is to reach 900 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

It's so funny seeing people bitch about drug wars when all they do literally copy well designed highly played games from almost 10 years ago.

Don't people remember how to play Mafia Wars?

Posted using Partiko Android

10yrs ago? Lol. Drug wars is around 30yrs old on PC. I used to play it on MS DOS in the early 90's bro .

I haven't seen anyone complaining about this version of #DOPEWARS (that's the original name) but I do see many giving feedback, opinions and perspectives.

My post is feedback, and at most controversial— a perspective. No complaints here; I love the game as is.

It's the newest edition and it's on #STEEM. It's also a work in progress so expect people to have their own strategies to play. Many of those strategies are 20+ years old and come from a time when DopeWars included Police...

Cheers

30 years ago? You fkin kidding me? Man i thought Mafia Wars on Facebook was something new.

Forgive me for not remembering about Dope Wars, im only in my early tweens this year.

@drugwars must have brought you waaay back playing the game eh?

I do not think anyone would want to say now because they could be targets when thier shield goes off

That's part of the game, as long as you keep your resources lower than your safe capacity, you won't be a good target.

Add a min of 6 units, focus on getting safes/silos and keep everything your resources in use and anyone attacking would be wasting their time.

I think your Twitter link is broken ☺️

Posted using Partiko Android

Really? I gonna check the link. Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17