DrugWars: A Game Review

in #drugwars5 years ago (edited)


My Review Of Drug Wars So Far.

Hmm where to start? I guess we will go with the pros category first.

Ok, as far as online games go, this isn't too bad considering it is in Alpha right now. And the dev's are working on it at a good clip, trying to please everyone while working on the game at the same time. So props to the dev's for that.

The interface has improved a great deal, and it looks pretty good thus far.

Now for the cons portion of the review.

Battle mechanics are not set in stone and change constantly. Some days the battles leave you scratching your head, trying to figure it all out. A lot of the changes are due to scammers setting up bots, ninja bots to be exact, to rape the system. Yeah, I went there.

Some things will never change, and I perhaps was having a case of wishful thinking that people would play without cheating the system and look for exploits. But it is what it is, and like the old saying goes... as above, so below. The game is built using the Steem BC, and we all know how things go as far as raping the system... still happens daily.

This is supposed to be a game, but yet again people are always looking for a fucking angle. These ninja bots are taking the fun, what little there is, out of the game. No need for them to even login, just constantly scanning the blockchain for battles, and picking prime targets on auto. Put nothing in, and take everything out, seems simple enough, right?

The rewards system is in need of some upgrades I think. Linear rewards is not the answer. How about rewarding people for actually playing? And maybe limit the amount of drugs you can invest in the heist, or maybe limit the amount of times you can actually invest? This would greatly improve game play, allowing for more battles to take place.

Speaking of battles, finding good targets is a real chore the way things are setup now. You only get a handful of targets to choose from. Might be interesting to randomize target selection in the interface.

Hindsight is 20/20, and perhaps the dev's should have went a different route, perhaps limiting access during Alpha stage for testing, and making sure things were ready before opening up the game for people to play. Now it is a free for all. It would be nice to see some changes regarding the game play, having people actually use the interface to play would be nice.

Considering it is still in Alpha, I am using a fair bit of patience, waiting to see the final result. So let us see where this goes in the coming days and weeks. I am looking forward to seeing a whole lot of improvements in game play in the near future. I hope that my invested Steem in DrugWars, actually proves to be worth it in the long run. And I am not talking ROI on Steem, an ROI for great game play is what I am after.

Of course you are free to make your own judgements regarding the game. If you want to give it a shot, click the link and join, or don't. Your call. ;-)


https://drugwars.io/i/inthenow

Yeah, I decided to give myself an upgrade with the image above, Tony Montana has gotten a facelift! LOL No sense in keeping this handsome mug all to myself, so enjoy! :-D

Sort:  

Not a bad review
What I don’t get is:
They know there is a bot problem with battles so they lower the safe time from 12 hours to 6 hours then 1 hour. Now I guess its back up to 6 hours.

That makes no sense from my view.

Thanks. :-D Yeah makes no sense to me either, would have been better to leave it at 12 until the issue has been resolved. Have a great day.

HOW did you get that big of an Army?

OMGosh

I am a small fry compared to others... but keep building it every day. :-)

Good review. I stopped building my army after I've had hundreds of units destroyed in a single battle... It's better for the long-term to invest ressources in storage imo, now at least I have a fair amount safe to use for heists everyday.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks. :-D Yeah I am stacking troops and upgrading buildings and storage currently as well. And the left over goes into the heists. Have a great day, hope to see you at the BMC show later too. :-)

A great day to you also! I'll be there for the show, would you mind reminding me of the time it will air?

Posted using Partiko Android

Sure, np :-) It starts at 4 PM EST on the SMA Server.

This post has been included in the latest edition of SoS Daily News - a digest of all the latest news on the Steem blockchain.

Thanks @pennsif appreciate it a bunch, have a great evening! :-D

You handsome bastard! LOL!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85