Dry Camping - Is it For You?

in #drycamp6 years ago (edited)

First off, for those few that might not know what dry camping is; simply defined, it's camping off-grid with no hookups such as water, electricity and sewer. Also known as boondocking.

dc0.jpg

A big advantage of RV (including vans) travel means no more sleeping on the ground in a tent and having to deal with rain, soggy sleeping bags, mud and all that goes with that. With an RV or van, all your camping gear is with you inside your RV and basically all you have to do is pull over, put your vehicle in park and turn your key off. Practically any piece of ground, parking lot and some city streets can become an instant campsite for a night. I think the temptation to dry camp or boon dock appeals to that free spirit in most of us that enjoy camping in the great outdoors. Being around other campers in an RV park setting is a feeling of security and a sense of community to some, but for others, the crowded conditions on busy weekends and holidays with campers parked on top of each other, not to mention the noise does not make for an enjoyable time camping. Setting up camp along a quiet river or the furthest point back in a thick forest is what it's all about to most. Hardly any of us want the sound of an idling diesel motor home or the drone of a generator breaking the silence of our chosen campsite as we throw that fishing line into the rushing waters of that trout stream.

fishing-19563__340.jpg

It seems that today, more and more people are joining the ranks of campers and buying that motorhome, van or popup camper and heading out. Well, because of all this interest in the great outdoors, you may be surprised when you pack up that new motorhome and head out to the mountains in the fall to enjoy the changing colors. You arrive at your destination thinking that you'll just pull into a campground and set up camp. Oh, you didn't think about making a reservation? You find out quickly that others have the same idea and the park is full. What to do? It's getting late and everyone's exhausted. Any experienced RV'er knows full well how quickly campgrounds can fill up. In situations such as this, you may be forced into dry camping in a Walmart parking lot or deserted field.

RV parks, even the lesser known ones are becoming quite pricey; even as much as a moderately priced motel. If spending a night at a state or national park appeals to you, you'll find they are usually cheaper than RV parks and usually have some terrific views as well. But again, it's best to check with that park for reservations. Most of my friends that I've met over the years, rarely pay for camping. They opt for the wide open spaces of the deserts or mountains or other free dry camping areas. I'm talking about areas, some of which are so remote that the expensive satellite dish on that million dollar diesel pusher won't even work. I'm talking about generating your own power with solar panels, carrying fresh water in, eating food from tin cans and fresh trout from that rushing stream you're parked by. It doesn't matter if you're in a converted cargo van, an old used truck camper or a million dollar diesel pusher, free camping can be found throughout the millions of acres of BLM (Bureau of Land Management) land.

dc3.jpg

However, contrary to popular belief, the world is not your oyster. There are laws and rules you must follow and obey. Safety is another issue and must be factored in. Many of the smaller, towable RV's on the market do not have generators, inverters or even solar power. When deciding to dry camp, all of this has to be considered. And, don't forget to carry enough water to sustain you and your crew for the duration. Have you considered hygiene, showers, toilet requirements and the like.

dc2.jpg

If you're an inexperienced dry camper, safety is a big issue. While most campgrounds are relatively safe with their fences and lighting and so forth, dry camping has it's own safety issues to consider. Think about being all alone in the deepest, darkest forest. When I made my first trip off-grid to such a place, every snap of a tree branch sent me into a sitting up position, thinking big foot was coming for me. After a few such trips, I no longer have those concerns as it's all part of the experience of dry camping, but I never compromise the safety factor. On the other hand, I've slept under street lights on city streets and Walmart parking lots. These situations do not make for the best night's sleep either but it does provide some assurance of safety for some. Just be prudent and insure your doors and windows are locked and your keys are close and easily accessible in case you need to move fast. In the case of dry camping, I always place my keys by the ignition and park my van headed in the direction of the road I want to leave by in case I have to leave in a hurry. I also have a can of wasp and hornet spray near by. No, I'm not afraid of being attacked by wasps during the middle of the night, but I have learned that a can of wasp and hornet spray can spray an accurate stream 10-12 feet easily and it's strong enough to disable a full grown man long enough for me to get away. I rarely carry a firearm, not because I don't know how to use it, I do. Being former military, I am well versed on the use of a firearm and I have a concealed carry permit, however, some states I travel through and camp in does not allow firearms... period! For me, it's simply this; I do not want to be stopped for a traffic infraction or some other reason and have a cop find the firearm in my vehicle and arrest me for it. The wasp and hornet spray is adequate for my protection. Some I know, do carry firearms, some carry bear spray which is also a good protection agent. I suppose a Louisville Slugger would work as well, but I don't want some would-be thief or suspicious person that close to me.

Sam Walton, the founder of Walmart started letting RV'er stay in Walmart parking lots overnight many years ago. That policy is still in effect today (for most Walmarts). It's my understanding that the local manager makes that decision for his/her store, so if Walmart is your preference for a night's stay, it may be a good idea to check with the local manager. I've seen some Walmarts that strictly prohibit overnight stays and are posted as such. A lot of this has to do with local city ordinances as opposed to Walmart's policy. Some overnighter's have also caused the problem by leaving their trash and worse in Walmart parking lots. I've seen RV'er roll out their awnings, set up grills, let out their roll-outs and place chairs outside and basically set up camp. This is not what Walmart intended with it's generous overnight stay policy.

If you're new to the dry camping idea, it might be best to take a dry run (no pun intended) before heading out to the desert or mountains and no hookups.

dc4.jpg

A lot of RV parks have an area set aside for primitive camping, for tents, etc. It might be a good idea to spend a couple of nights in such an environment to see how you do with no hookups to water, electric and sewer before heading out to the unknown. You'll get an idea as to how much water and propane gas you will need to carry and how you fare without electricity and sewer. You'll also get an idea as to how to prepare for provisions to bring with you when you dry camp.

Most of the photos in this blog are provided courtesy of pixabay.com.

“If you liked this post, please follow me here on Steemit. I’ll follow you back. I’ll be bringing you more good quality content in the weeks to come.”

Until next time…

Sort:  

Hi billjones,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Hello very interesting post i think dry camping is definitely not for me. Because sleeping in the deepest part of the forest will scare me to death i will imagine many crasy scenarios like you and bigfoot:D

Camping have always appealed to me though I have never gone on camping, maybe someday I will try it out. Dry camping seems like a really tough one it's definitely isn't for everyone. But thanks to your tips, is will be much more easier for someone planing on going for dry camping.

Well, the fears and all definitely will wear off with time..

I'm not a person who would enjoy camping, simply because I like to enjoy some comfort and I would not change it unless it's strictly unnecessary. But the idea of coming wherever you want and being completely flexible and free does appeal to me. I know many people who love camping. Some of them even pimped them up and they look awesome.

It's good that you put the safety first. Yes, you never know what might happen and need to be prepared for that. This is another thing that puts me off camping. I would not be able to sleep :) and a little sound would make me jump out of the bed.

I've heard that you have to book a place in advance in European countries as well. The camping sites get booked out very quickly as camping is very popular here as well.

I'm sure that your tips will help people who would love to go dry camping but were not completely convinced yet.

Thank you for sharing!

Dry camping sounds really adventurous, it is good to have children for such a trip so that learn from the early ages to learn and love nature. It was interesting to hear your opinion regarding camping because I am not a fan of camping may be because I never tried it and can’t imagine how it is, that is why really appreciate you for such detailed post and your experience.

I was puzzled by the title and wondered if "dry camping" referred to camping when it wasn't raining! 😆 I have been trying to explain to hubby why I'd prefer the convenience of an RV over tents. It seems a little more convenient and a little safer.

The wasp and hornet spray is an interesting tip. Here in Australia most forms of what would be called personal protection are illegal, including pepper spray. So something like that could be the way to go if they sell such things here.

Posted using Partiko Android

My family used to do this in the wilds of Northern Michigan in the 1960's and 1970's(and probably other years I did not go). We went someplace in the Traverse City area on various rivers near Lake Michigan. We parked cars as close as we could get, and dragged tents, food, water, and other items into the bush. There were maybe 25 of us with a bunch of cousins and aunts and uncles.

I hated this with all my heart.

The rest of everyone loved in and I think the trips were a week or 10 days each summer. I can remember the guys digging latrines and the extremely uncomfortable air mattresses that leaked in the night. The part I liked the best was bathing in the river since I am a swimmer, but from then until now I have never done this again. Give me a hotel with a queen sized bed and ac!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61482.47
ETH 2990.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67