"It's a Tribe Thing" - My entry for Steem Music Alliance #getarecord competition. D-vine meets Artic

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


## Now I am a new-boy in the game of music and as always, I like to throw myself in at the deep end.

After posting my first track, a few weeks ago, I decided to take a look at what was on offer in the #getarecord challenge and see if any of the [tracks on offer](steemit.com/getarecord/@seveaux/getarecord-start-making-vocals-track-2-week-3-4) touched a nerve...

They all did!!! Oh shit....

![Screenshot-2018-5-15 GeT A Record continue - Collab on a Vinyl- — Steemit.png](steemitimages.com/DQmNzLNvQHYNrwxUS9fobPQsqkKgrGe7qsBtAkyBrk46ZHY/Screenshot-2018-5-15%20GeT%20A%20Record%20continue%20-%20Collab%20on%20a%20Vinyl-%20%E2%80%94%20Steemit.png)

Honestly, I have written out lyrics for almost every track available and choosing a song was as hard as creating what you are about to here. After about an hour I had decided on the track I would try to do justice to.

I haven't come here just to take part and I wanted to make something as good as my talents allowed. That being said, paying respects and not murdering this great D&B track was always in the back of my mind.. Pressure!

![Screenshot-2018-5-15 AWAKE by D-VINE — Steemit.png](steemitimages.com/DQmbawWNeeSHjF9h7gHpnVgD4CW6PfAvuwoAbm1NZNCxvZg/Screenshot-2018-5-15%20AWAKE%20by%20D-VINE%20%E2%80%94%20Steemit.png)
I am an old Raver at heart and this track took me straight back to my youth(90's). I've been to a few raves and listened to a million D&B tape packs, so this track always seemed to catch my ear and in hindsight seems an obvious choice.

After sending @d-vine a unfinished part-version of the track I was creating, she replied with the statement "oldschool"

This was just what I needed to hear and I have been working on this track for the last week-and-a-half.

I began with mashing up samples from my first song and then after receiving the message from @d-vine, I went into my music archives and dug out some old track I used to listen to. Now Hip-hop music has always played a big part in my life and that was what I found suited the amazing track I had chosen to work with.

I hope you all like what I have done with this track, as I am very pleased to offer it up for the challenge ahead.

Thank you @seveaux and all @sma for setting this competition up. Good luck to all the other participants too! I can't wait to hear what I am up against...

I would just like to add that this is my own version of this track and I have not done anything special with the volume levels. If this tune is picked, it will go then be mastered and all faults will be ironed out by professionals and not an amateur on a crappy lap-top(me).

So here is my collaboration track, with @d-vine. Enjoy!

(dsound links below)

![sma banner.png](steemitimages.com/DQmNoY3XCdHUZJy3LE4xgcbJxKtbcNXETKBTGt1jAZPdAFC/sma%20banner.png)

Come fhttps://smartsteem.com?r=article61ind me on the smartsteem whitelist, by following this link

smartsteem.com?r=article61




► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Article61 - Rebel-Dan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I like the idea but I'm not sure how to contact samuel L jackson haha if this will be the winner :P i love the idea though refreshing!... pulp fiction is my favourite movie haha

Haha, yes I thought this may be pushing the rules slightly. Does it still qualify as vocals, as that is all I have added, no sound effects. Some of it is me on the mic, but then I was listening to the track and noticed it blended well with a cypress hill track. Didn't end up using the track I first thought of, but I reckon it has turned out ok for an amateur.

"THE LAW!"

dont want to be a dickhead but this competition is not set up by #thealliance but by me and for #SMA community @article61 :P will respond on the track soon mate

lol too many groups for me to keep up with. I will amend it now buddy. Look forward to the feedback...

nice one , I do like my drum and bass x

Thanks m'lady ;) Would have been bad if i'd have tried to MC to the track ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71