DJ Chris The Glove & David Storrs - Reckless feat ICE T

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)

Chris The Glove - Reckless.png

Let’s take a ride back in hip hop history to my first big break. Reckless.

It was me and ICE T at the time. ICE T got a speaking part in the film Breakin' and i wanted to be down somehow some way. ICE T told me that i was his DJ so i was like cool. During filming some of the dance scenes, the director was asking for some particular music to be played during the scene. That's where i came in. I had just got my 808 drum machine which i believe i'm the first one in LA to have, and I told him "Hey, here's some music right here i do this", He then asked if i can score some of the scenes! I told him yeah sure why not. I ended up getting paid $60,000 for doing 3 different scores for the scene! Mind you this is 1983 so a $1,000 felt like $10,000 today

Cash.gif
(source)

Scene 1- Tibetan Jam
Scene 2 - Reckless
Trailer - Reckless Rivalry or Combat.

Let me finish my story on how Reckless came about. So i hit up ICE T in the evening and told him to meet me in the studio around midnight, he pulled up around then and we worked all night. The film guys were calling us constantly because they were running close to their deadlines.

Now this is where it gets funny. Dave Storrs told me that I told him to tell the film guys to come around 6am, and bring some KFC Chicken.
KFC.gif

" Ice T said "Yeah and bring some Drinks too". So 6am came and they showed up at the studio with the KFC Chicken & Drinks...Dave met them at the front door, we told him to grab the chicken and tell them to come back at 9am lmao. They came back and we gave them the record. It ended up being the very last record on the soundtrack.

I wanna give a special shout out to ICE T right now because he could’ve rapped about anything but he chose to rap about me which solidified me in to Hip Hop History!

27858376_1735803063193302_8336487210284337093_n.jpg


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

Nice!

I spotted ICE T at an import car show in Cali back in the 90's.

Posted using Partiko Android

What an amazing story. You've both played an important role in music history. Thanks for sharing!

Congratulations @christheglove! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66274.97
ETH 3175.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06