NextColony Soundtrack Suite: Trk 1 - "Shipyard Overtime"

in #dsound5 years ago (edited)


After discovering and quickly immersing myself in NextColony (https://nextcolony.io/), a space exploration game new to the Steem Blockchain, I felt particularly inspired to revisit what is perhaps my favorite genre to write: ambient spacefaring industrial design music. Born too early, I tell yah. Sometimes I truly feel like my calling is coming up with interesting arpeggios and drones to soundscape massive cargo containers full of obscure minerals descending in zero-g to a bustling spaceport floor. What is NextColony, you ask? As a veteran of 0.0 space Eve Online alliance battling, I can tell you it is immediately scratching my skill-tree-timer itch. Ingame you colonize indelible planets on the blockchain, harvest resources, build ships, find more NFT planets ... more than enough to get this ex-capsuleer back on the sauce. Big time.

IMG_1898.PNG

To get into a space colony headspace. I'm using a few of my favorite go-tos (Cwejman VCO-6 triangle output -> Echophon for the main arpeggio) ... though I'm specifically avoiding my first impulse towards french horns. After recently reposting some of my soundtrack to the Outer Empires IOS space RPG, I quickly realized the french horn is literally the sound of space cliche. It is -incredibly- easy to get things to sound interstellar with melancholic french horn. I'm instead relying on the modular to take a series of arpeggios and "find" the lead note change as I introduce it, sustaining it into what is effectively a lead. I think for any sort of game soundtrack-based material, keeping lead elements as minimal as possible is crucial.

Three quarters through the song, I introduce some sampled classical guitar, which I feel like lends alot of the same "into the unknown" sort of timbre I would be getting with horns, but in a much more interesting and modern-sample-collage sort of way. Sometime about the push and pull of this section embodies what I'd imagine a typical day on a spaceport would be like: total droning boredom punctuated by moments of extreme drama and intensity. Although the sample isn't a perfect fit, with a bit of modular manipulation and some minimalist drums, I think it gets the point across. I captured a video of the performance which I'l be posting tomorrow!

Fun fact: the planet in this post's top image is, infact, OP3RATOR_PRIME, my first uncommon atmospheric planet. Meta.


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)

4bEjbgCbFMvA8T33kKpp3RsBvZue1Hns5Cwuz57pgmmNsP859ppT57MFiYUyyUs2jd65NA1ETs96zH5zLfk24pAutq5CmjaQ4ArM7Y8GGBnT2B6qWtwBayxP1CS1ZHM8Y25V9k5L5hjrpNBtWizaVFBc5WqqnaUxjbD9r32TJjYjk99j9G.jpeg

Sort:  

very cool!

Wow, I really love that. I've heard it 20 times.
This is so much NC. I can feel it 100%.

Consider it yours. With revisions if necessary!

We'll find a good way to reward that.

Yeeesssss!!!!! You are fab man, really love your sound!
We would be honored to have you back on SOTA sometime dear @drumoperator

Let’s do it!

Thats sound something awesome my friend. ☺️👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you drumoperator! You've just received an upvote of 42% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85