Tool - Ænema (Cover By Ed Privat)

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


This is Ænema by Tool , it's a Rock Band, very good, I had the chance to see them in France twice, I went for a dry acoustic arrangement, as raw as it can get. For some reason it took me more time than expected!!

The song explore nihilism, the title is a reference to Carl Jung's Ænema, Anima and Animus, the whole album was dedicated to Bill Hicks, a satirist comedian , and some of the words of the song are supposed to be a word for word rant that Bill Hicks had once about LA, like "See you in Arizona Bay" I decided to change the lyrics a bit too (the kids were at home), I hope that you enjoy !

Tool - Ænema

Some say the end is near Some say we'll see Armageddon soon I certainly hope we will I sure could use a vacation from this
Nonsense three ring circus sideshow of Freaks
Here in this hopeless bitter hole we call LA The only way to fix it is to flush it all away Any given time, any given day Learn to swim, see you down in Arizona Bay
Fret for your figure and Fret for your latte and Fret for your lawsuit and Fret for your hairpiece and Fret for your Prozac and Fret for your pilot and Fret for your contract and Fret for your car
It's a Nonsense three ring circus sideshow of Freaks
Here in this hopeless bitter hole we call L.A. The only way to fix it is to flush it all away Any given time, any given day Learn to swim, see you down in Arizona Bay
Some say a comet will fall from the sky Followed by meteor showers and tidal waves Followed by fault lines that cannot sit still Followed by millions of dumbfounded Lost Sheep
And some say the end is near Some say we'll see Armageddon soon I certainly hope we will I sure could use a vacation from this
Stupid shit, silly shit, stupid shit
One great big festering neon distraction, I've a suggestion to keep you all occupied
Learn to swim, learn to swim, learn to swim
Mom's gonna fix it all soon Mom's comin' 'round to put it back the way it ought to be
Learn to swim
Flush L Ron Hubbard and Flush all his clones Flush all those gun-toting Hip gangster wannabes
Learn to swim
Flush retro anything Flush your tattoos Flush all you junkies and Flush your short memory
Learn to swim
Flush smiley glad-hands With hidden agendas Flush these dysfunctional Insecure actresses
Learn to swim
'Cause I'm praying for rain And I'm praying for tidal waves I wanna see the ground give way I wanna watch it all go down Mom please flush it all away I wanna see it go right in and down I wanna watch it go right in Watch you flush it all away
Time to bring it down again Don't just call me pessimist Try and read between the lines
I can't imagine why you wouldn't Welcome any change, my friend
I wanna see it come down Burn it down Suck it down Flush it down

  <a href="https://dsound.audio/#!/@edprivat/20180915t101042828z-tool-nema-cover-by-ed-privat">► Listen on DSound</a><br>
  <a href="https://gateway.ipfs.io/ipfs/QmRvpudsuYsr1H1hzGu4Znp9psiA55BwepyC5TZP1Z8dWa">► Listen from source (IPFS)</a>
Sort:  

Awesome! It’s good to hear you friend- would you guess that @dandays and I just listened to you while drinking our cup of coffee? Well we did!

The sound didn’t give me Tool at all but more of a Memphis blues-y, Jazz-y sound- soulful. Good job Ed.

Thanks so much !!!
Yeah i wanted to change the song to something different, i took the swearing words away too

You made it your own and we enjoyed it. 👏👏👏 Ed!

Dsound link is missing, will stop by later
Btw I followed you again but never unfollowed, been happening lately a LOT
Need to make sure now from pc when I go home

I added a youtube link ! Yeah I know the same thing happened to me so many times don't worry. To be honest it's been probably a month or two that I have been losing followers for no reason!

Oh my goodness! First, thank you for attaching that external link or I would’ve missed this. 👍🏿

Dude I’ve seen Maynard Keenan, Tool, Perfect Circle, all of em!! I’ll just quickly (ya right!) touch on two.

My very first concert ever dude, 14 years old at a joint called the Masterdome now, it’s at the very top of that list, #6, back then it was called the San Bernardino Sports Arena. 14 dude, my very first concert.. that wouldn’t been ‘about’ 1990. (That hyperlink was actually tough to find, I wanted to make sure you had one with the look from how I remember)

...I saw him/them perform about 5 more times.

One other one I saw ‘Tool’ that’s who he was that night was at a show with ALL kinda performers!! Atmosphere, MAC Lethal, Linkin Park, Soul Asylum, Candlebox, I cant even remember who all was there, I remember the show started around noon and by the time Tool came on I was spent and ready to go home.

Dude when Maynard took the stage he had a cast on his leg, the kind goes all the way to his waist. (It means he broke his femur, I’m a pro with surgeries) he grabbed the mic and explained to all of us why he wouldn’t be moving around the stage this show and playing all of the instruments. He told us he’s in a lot of pain and he’s going to sit at the back of the stage, sitting in the chair hey had for him, and he took his seat.

Ed! Dude. He f’ing killed it!! One of the best performances I’ve ever seen, we weren’t tired at all as soon as they started playing! Killed it.

Thanks for sparking another one! Great track this morning Ed.

Dude that's such a dope experience to recall! thanks for telling it !
So the roof of Masterdome collapsed 20 years ago? That's crazy...

I think I saw Perfect Circle too , I can't really remember where though.
Does Maynard makes wine as well?

In few years time people will have vintage dry room for marijuana the same way we have for wine.
I can imagine myself in my old age going from one weed cellar to another with the wife, and just "Tasting"

Man there’s so much history at that joint. The seating was concrete steps, no rows, no aisles, just find somewhere with a good view.

Wine? It appears he does! Not sure why he chose Arizona though?? It’s such a dry, tax riddled, unfriendly state full of police officers.. Don’t get caught with weed in Arizona!! I take that back, don’t get caught with a seed in Arizona!

I can imagine the cellar now. ‘Tasting’ is a great response, I’ll have to write that down so I’m not constantly saying “I don’t remember.”

Congratulations @edprivat! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

fantastic !! one of my favourite bands !!

Hi @edprivat!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.531 which ranks you at #6074 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 4 places in the last three days (old rank 6078).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 429 contributions, your post is ranked at #177.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hello @edprivat, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63671.94
ETH 3040.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01