'Low soul' by Segovia (Beat Battle League S2:R14 — 'Soul Beats')

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


Salutations my dudes & dudettes! @elbrujo aka 'Segovia' is briefly back to share with you my entry to the Beat Battle League S2:R14 contest hosted by the hommie @chiefmappster, in which, I had to get out of my confort zone and make something a little bit different from my usual lo-fi hip hop work (But not so much honestly).

It was a new experience working on this joint. Althought I have worked with soul samples before, this was the first that had me spending a lot of time adjusting frequencies on the EQ and leveling the audio more than once. Of course, I took the liberty to insert some lo-fi touches on the final mix: Getting rid of some of the low end and boosting some of the low-mid frequencies, adding a sub-bass line under the bass of the sample to get a more full sound on it (A very subtle bass line) and of course, some vinyl crackle to give the track that vintage feel. The song sampled was I don't wanna leave you by Debbie Taylor (The one on the cover), a wonderful soul singer from the 1960's & 1970's, a beautiful song full of groove and passion.

In any way, shape or form I am a professional producer nor even a good producer; I'm still developing my skills and have a lot to learn but, I'm taking this opportunity to put in practice all the knowledge I've gattered throught my journey producing and making beats. This joint was in a way similar to my lo-fi producing routine so, I managed to blend both the lo-fi feel and soul sound to give it a personal touch.

I really do hope you guys like at least a little beat (Pun definitely intended hehe) this track and if you share it, resteem and upvote, it would be very meaningful and helpful to me. I'm not putting this on my Souncloud page since it was specially made for this platform, and I'm also planning on making some sort of "Making of" posts about how I make my music and all the process behind it on the future. Thanks!


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

Cool, gentle, and soulful... but still the warm lo-fi 'crackle' -- what's old is new again and revisited in a brilliant new setting Well done!

Thanks man, your feedback really means a lot to me.

You're welcome my friend. A great week to you!

upvoted from the whaleshares show!

Congratulations @elbrujo! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Final results coming soon

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17