Plants Can Talk To Bugs...?!

in #dsound5 years ago (edited)


Okay, I'll admit this episode blew my mind. Did you know that plants release compounds that attract different bugs to them? Say aphids are munching on a tomato. Based on the type of aphid and the amount, a plant released a different combination of compounds / chemicals that attract the natural predators for aphids.

BLEW. MY. MIND. Makes you think about all of the ways that nature is working that we simply don't see...

Thanks For Listening!

If this is your first time listening to the podcast, thank you! Please leave a comment so I can get to know you better.

My name is Kevin and I run Epic Gardening, a website, podcast, and YouTube channel. My goal is to teach 10,000,000 people how to grow their own food.

I'm a big believer in Steemit and decentralized platforms, so I'm going all in on Steemit, dtube, and dsound. Be sure to check me out there too! You'll find me writing about gardening, travel, health, and philosophy - I can't seem to stick to one topic :P

Thanks and happy Steeming,

af.png

Kevin


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

We, humans, think we are so bright. But, yeah, nature had a lot of time to perfect her ways.

Posted using Partiko Android

So true. The more we advance in science it seems the more we turn BACK to nature for lessons.

I believe it's call biomimicry

Posted using Partiko Android

That blows my mind, had no idea of this

Pretty insane right? Absolutely blew my mind as well.

For sure a cracking series have learn a lot in these these few day and facination as you say. We live in such a complex ecosystem and it become so apparent that if we work with it our yields would increase ten fold 💯🐒

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72