What`s The Frequency?

in #dsound5 years ago


A remix of "The Fear Frequency", this breakbeat-style groove is about 80% less spooky. Approximately.

I made heavy use of the LABS Music Box instrument from Spitfire audio, and ran it (plus the vocals and other elements) through a "radio" preset in EZMix. Of course I'm not happy just using one plugin's stock sound, so I added some more distortion and bit-crushing to generate that over-driven effect that is intended to sound like a really cheap radio turned up just a little too loud. This worked great for the piano, but it made the voice a little bit too harsh, so if you listen closely you can hear that I ran a tiny bit of the unprocessed audio directly to the master to balance out those harsh highs. It sort of sounds like two voices now... if you listen.

I had no idea what to do for the break, so I just let some of the original dark ambiance out to play. I think it worked.

And yes, that piano is panned hard left and then inexplicably changes position during the break JUST to mess with you. Your ears get used to hearing them in one spot... and then I change it up. The question is: would you have even noticed if I hadn't told you?

Stream/Buy/Share: https://song.link/us/i/1468785407

If you have trouble listening on dsound you can listen on:
Musicoin: https://musicoin.org/nav/track/0x3b18a394d4ba79e29ece2f3e86509567964ee986

LYRICS
Frequency!

FOLLOW iconDARK


More about iconDARK:

I like what I like; I make what I make.

My electronic instrumentals range from eerie dark ambient to rock-influenced electronica to bass-heavy breakbeat. I refuse to limit myself to just one subgenre. The one unifying thread throughout my work stems from my lifelong love of imaginative fiction, horror movies, and tales of the paranormal… all of which make their way into the titles and themes of my music.

This post was generated for free from


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hi, @icondark!

You just got a 0.29% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04