Jon Magnusson - Set me on fire

in #dsound6 years ago


Choon: choon.co/tracks/0ot0l26heda/set-me-on-fire Spotify: open.spotify.com/track/53nwbka5GhldzexLZw7N8H?si=7KvE3fOvS2mM81PnxLcNyw ### About In the epic “Set me on Fire” the sound gets darker and heavier and the lyrics almost blasphemous. Written as a defiance against the former mentioned inner demons as well as the idea that there is an inherent meaning to life or an objective truth that’s able to find via religion or any other ideology. Instead it encourages the listener to challenge given norms, think for itself and create meaningfulness to a life that otherwise can feel quite empty. With the first verse and chorus being quite sparsely arranged the wall of sound builds up throughout the song and adds up to a perfectly crafted patchwork where the vocals and four electrical guitars sits nicely side by side with choirs, a Juno-synth and even a distorted Glockenspiel. If someone’s able to knit such craziness together it’s the ingenious Ruben and the end result speaks for itself. If this song doesn’t leave the listener in flames, nothing will.

Lyrics

Set me on fire
Put something in my bloodstream, to take away the pain
Attenuate my anxiety, make me go astray
Then cover me with blankets, to ease my aching heart
I don't wanna be a martyr, though I suffer for the art
Set me on fire
Don't preach about eternity, this life is fairly well
Stop lie to us I now that there's no heaven nor a hell
If Jesus is your savior, than cross me off your list
In the end I might get burned, I gladly take that risk
Set me on fire
Set me on fire
Set me on fire
And keep that fire burning, don't tuck me in to sleep
Whisper softly in my ear that I'm the one you'll keep
I might get overheated, I might put on a show
But what's the point in holding back, I never liked it slow
Set me on fire
Set me on fire
Set me on fire
Set me on fire
Set me on fire
Set me on fire
Set me on fire
Set me on fire


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

Music is my favourite thing in my life

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @jonmagnusson! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85