|| Steemit Exclusive Original Song from "The Archives" ||

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


An old song from what I affectionately call "The Archives." Not so much my style (I was more experimental then), but I always enjoyed playing this one, and like that it was a fight against my temperamental melancholy! The last time I played it was when I recorded this - I think in 2011!

Melancholy

Melancholy, go away
Don't try to come another day
I've seen the sun
I've watched the moon
They've been saying "here comes June"

Come and see me only if you're bringing news of May
I'll be sitting on the sidewalk, singing
Selling pink lemonade

To the people smelling roses,
To the kids out flying kites
To the ones who left self-pity in the garbage pails outside
To the hearts too big for breaking
To the hands too small to hoard
To the ones who kindly whisper,
"Leave your baggage at the door"

Cloudy skies, go on, clear up
I'm finished with half-empty cups
I've paid in tears
I've shed no blood
Time to sail a different flood

Come and see me only if you want me to blow you away
I'll be singing to the ones who've said you've more than had your say

To the people smelling roses,
To the kids out flying kites
To the ones who left self-pity in the garbage pails outside
To the hearts too big for breaking
To the hands too small to hoard
To the ones who kindly whisper,
"Leave your baggage at the door"

Copyright 2011. Please ask permission before using.

Follow @kayclarity. I also try to check out the blogs here and there of those who upvote and comment, so say hello!

.



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

Gorgeous, as per usual.

BTW – your last name could not be more fitting. Truly – every time I hear you sing, I'm struck but the pristine quality of your tone – by...well – your vocal clarity. I could listen to you all day and never tire of the sound.

Today has been more than a little rough for me – hearing this soothed the upset somewhat. Thank you for that. <3

steemit-posts(rw)-19.jpg

Aw, Zippy, I'm so glad to hear that I could lift your sweet heart a little. I've really experienced a downturn in engagement this last while so it's been a bit discouraging, and I don't know how to fix it! But if the people who need to hear it are hearing it, then that's a big consolation.

I'd like for you to listen to this one as well - I think it might be a comfort: https://steemit.com/dsound/@kayclarity/20180514t221101353z-new-song-never-shared-scratch-track-for-steemit-exclusively

(Also: I saw your discord post! I'm terrible at keeping up over there.. and here. That's probably a factor with the downturn! I just find it so hard to keep up with it all, and just feel I'm giving my heart in the songs and poems. You do such a good job at connecting with people here <3)

Gorgeous picture, too. You're a talented lady.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87