Original Scratch Track: "I Will Grow Old" (Steemit exclusive)

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


Recorded this quickly today and played with the harmonies a bit. Nothing remotely done yet, but nice to share it with you in its early idea stage. Hope you enjoy! I know it's about aging and passing away, but it's not really a sad song to me. It's serious and thoughtful and peaceful: a courageous resignation to reality that calls us to live fully and ask the deep questions we often miss in the dailies of our lives.

I Will Grow Old

I will grow old like my mother’s mother
I will grow lines like the roads I’ve travelled

I will grow old like the weathered willow
I will stand tall then fade away

I will grow old like my mother’s mother
I will join the hidden in the ground

I will grow quiet like all who’ve left us
The same wind will erode the dirt that will bury me

I will grow old like my mother’s mother
I will grow lines like the roads I’ve travelled

I will grow old like the weathered willow
I will stand tall then fade away

xx,
Kay

.

Copyright 2018. Please use only with permission.

.


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78