"Let the Dead" (new edit) - Kay Clarity

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


One of the songs I've most loved sharing this last year. Here is a new edit on the track for a richer sound.

Let the Dead

Whitewash it
Downplay it
He never loved you, anyway

Forget it
Disown the memories
Erase every word he said

A poet
Trapped in a weary shell
Ariadne tried to lead him out

A labyrinth,
A path inside a path
And he's only laying down

"Don't burn now
You'll hurt, oh,
Just go running off again"

A fool's words,
Dressed in silk
Let the dead bury their dead
Let the dead bury their dead
Let the dead bury their dead

xx,
Kay

Copyright 2018. Please do not use without permission.

Follow @kayclarity for songs and poems and the occasional writings about life and art!

.



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

Once again, inspiring :) One day I hope I get to sing a duo with you and your magical sound! Beautiful song!

Thank you! Aw, that means a lot. I wish I were better with the collab thing - technically open, but such a lone wolf in many ways that I end up just hiding out on my own artistically, too. Where are you again? I'll keep you mind :)

I get so many ideas when listening to your music! Ofcourse I never want to intrude but if you ever want I would gladly throw you some ideas! 😊 I'm pretty far away, in Finland..so sitting down for a coffee probably aint gonna happen but at least we have the internet 😄

You have a beautiful voice - constrained power. Reminds me a little bit of Marissa Nadler and the best of southern gothic. Did you write the lyrics? A haunting story of a woman trying to forget, and willing to destroy to get there.

Thank you so much! Yes, I did write the lyrics. I'll have to check out Marissa Nadler, as I've never heard the name--but I love that it has some southern gothic resonance :). The song comes together with the obscure hyperbolic scriptural reference about leaving the dead behind, in case you're curious in going down that rabbit hole (I like to pretend I'm Flannery sometimes lol). I'm really glad you enjoyed it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11