Love Is Law - This is 1 of my most requested songs

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


This song was written whilst I was looking in the eyes of my eldest daughter when she was 2 weeks old. I mean, it felt like she was transmitting information from the higher realms straight into my heart. I literally had written it in it's entirety those magical few minutes.

Love is Law calls upon us to imagine how amazing our world could be if we all (everyone in our communities) loved each other unconditionally, the way a parent loves their child...
And it is possible,

"... If we just open our hearts, open our minds, open ourselves to be free..."

Am I talking about a paradigm of utopian proportions?
I know it sounds like an impossible goal to attain and possibly that's true, but shouldn't we at least try?
Let's face it, so many people place focus on a dystopic future as if that were actually probable (no, it's not and never has been possible), but quickly dismiss a possibility of creating a truly beautiful world free of war, or they just judge the notion as cheesy, but that is just indoctrination as I'd mentioned briefly in my Steemit post '[The Smiling Perception](steemit.com/life/@nathankaye/the-smiling-perspective-2018-05-05-22-47-03)'

Well, I hope this tune lifts your spirits as it did with mine the minute I had written it...

Believe it or not, this is one of my most requested songs.

Love is Law was on my debut album called 'Illumination'.


If the dSound link doesn't work, please click this [Musicoin link](musicoin.org/nav/track/0x0f0c760f57ec513975bfa97ea542063d1e7e4a44)


LYRICS

If love is the law why change it?
If love is law why rearrange it?

We’re so close. We’re so close if we just…

Open our hearts, open our minds,
open ourselves to be free

If love is law why not choose it?
If love is law why abuse it?

We’re so close. We’re so close if we just…

Open our hearts, open our minds,
open ourselves to be free

Haven’t you noticed the times have changed?
Haven’t you noticed we’re all the same?
We’re all the same. We’re all the same. We’re all the….

Songwriting © Nathan Kaye 1999


Recording © Nathan Kaye 2000



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

Great song but even greater story behind the creation of the song! The love between parent and child is absolutely unparalleled. I wish we lived in a world where we were free from war. That would be amazing. Thanks for sharing more good music!
Ivy

Thanks for being the one radiant being that was attuned enough to get this song!
Huge gratitude from me!
And yes, the way the song came into existence is very special. Almost as special as when I've played it at festivals and inspired hundreds of people to hold their hearts and sing along with the chorus...
Let me tell you that hearing hundreds of people singing "Open our hearts, open our minds, open ourselves to be free" is such an ecstatic feeling!
in joy,
Nathan

You are most welcome, dear. I can only imagine the feeling that you describe but I'm sure it's a rush and validates the hard work that you put into your art. We all want to feel the feeling of others appreciating our efforts and sharing in that experience that we felt when we produced the artwork. And music is art. I'm more of a public speaker and when I get up on stage and see everyone riveted to my words or nodding their heads in agreement it gives me a rush and like my words are being heard.
Ivy

Blessings to you, lovely!

To you as well, dear!
Ivy

Pretty amazing if i may say myself. Great delivery. You know what. I can hear a chorus in my mind singing the "Open our hearts, open our minds,
open ourselves to be free" part somewhere in the second part of the song after your solo delivery.
I know this is your vision and a great one at that, and i hear so much power in the lyrics it can go "grandiose". Not many songs achieve that. :D
Sry if im out of bounds but i just feel that strength in the song.

Yes! I've been wanting to get a gospel choir to sing that after the second verse actually. This was recorded in 2000, but the song has grown a lot since then.
Thanks lovely!
Great minds think alike.
Blessings & smiles
in joy
Nathan
NK

Haha. Didnt want to intrude on an artists vision but im glad i wasnt too far off. 😁

Great minds think alike

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25