Will the Circle Be Unbroken (traditional)

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)

Hi. So, here is a pretty depressing song about death and losing one's mother. This song always makes me cry. I remember it took me a couple of times just to record it without being too voice cracky. (This was 2001-ish)

I've always loved the song, have heard it performed by many folk singers and country singers. I enjoy old timey country.. the really old stuff like Hank Williams Sr. and Johnny Cash (his older stuff) and June Carter Cash.. this recording is really nothing like all that but it just describes a bit where my love of bluegrass and country music comes from.

Living in Tennessee, it's everywhere. My grandparents listened to bluegrass music on records and on our neighboring town's little AM radio station. I remember my grandma would call in trying to win contests. This song reminds me of her. She was my second mother.

Anyway, here we go. I hadn't shared this yet because really I go out of key at times and screw up on guitar a bit and the guitar is actually slightly out of tune just enough to notice and be irritated by it.

But awhile back I saw people doing this "uncomfortable challenge" here and since then I've been kind of secretly trying to follow through with that even if not tagging or describing posts as such. But, hey..legit awkward amounts of discomfort exist here this morning. I gotta just get over it.

Lyrics

I was standing by my window,
On a cold and cloudy day
When I saw that hearse come rolling
For to carry my mother away

Will the circle be unbroken
By and by, Lord, by and by
There's a better home a-waiting
In the sky, Lord, in the sky

I told the undertaker
Undertaker, please drive slow
For this body you are hauling
Lord, I hate to see her go

Will the circle be unbroken
By and by, lord, by and by
There's a better home a-waiting
In the sky, lord, in the sky

Well, I followed close behind her
Tried to hold up and be brave
But I could not hide my sorrow
When they laid her in the grave

Will the circle be unbroken
By and by, lord, by and by
There's a better home a-waiting
In the sky, lord, in the sky

I went back home, I found it lonely
Because my mother now she was gone
All of my brothers and sisters crying
In our home, so sad and alone

Will the circle be unbroken
By and by, lord, by and by
There's a better home a-waiting
In the sky, lord, in the sky

Well we sang the songs of childhood
Hymns of faith that made us strong
All the ones that mother taught us
Hear the angels sing along

Will the circle be unbroken
By and by, lord, by and by
There's a better home a-waiting
In the sky, lord, in the sky
Will the circle be unbroken
By and by, lord, by and by

There's a better home a-waiting
In the sky, lord, in the sky


Credits:

Written in 1907 by Ada R. Habershon with music by Charles H. Gabriel. The song is often recorded unattributed and, because of its age, has lapsed into the public domain. It was famously performed by such artists as Johnny Cash and The Nitty Gritty Dirty Band and Willie Nelson and the list goes on and on and on. (Quoted some of that description from wikipedia)

► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61388.48
ETH 2984.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65