Fly Away Blue (original)

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


Kinda remembering how it feels to sit in a tiny old bar with just a pool table and a jukebox nearby and almost no people inside except the loneliest alone ones. My friends and I used to play pool till nearly dawn sometimes. I'm a pretty terrible pool player, but it is one of my favorite things to do. Thanks for listening. ♥

Fly Away Blue

Dripping with anger I walk out of the haze
into the bar where the wild folks play
nobody cries much in here anymore
but you can feel the old ghosts
flying through that front door

As the lightning burns me
I feel myself fall
back to the place where
the whippoorwills call

The sweet, sweet angels,
they dance all night long
and nothing there ever ever goes wrong

Fly away, Blue.
Can you hear me?
I don't want you.

Fly away, Blue.
Can you hear me?
I don't want you.
I don't want you.

A girl sings a song
as she hugs her guitar
It's brown and deep yellow
and too big for her arms.

She sings like a preacher
She dares us to think
She says we dont need
all these pretty old things.

She says that we're broken
by all of our greed
and a few bad apples
have made us all bleed

The saints and the sinners,
they dream the same dream.
It's a shame we don't reach out
to get what we need

Fly away, Blue
Can you hear me?
I don't want you.

Fly away, Blue
Can you hear me?
I don't want you.

As the lightning burns me
I feel myself fall
Back to the place where
The whippoorwills call

The sweet sweet angels
They dance all night long
and nothing there ever goes wrong

Repeat the chorus for too many times.
This song is over 4 minutes long.
I just really sometimes can't stop.


©2018 paintingangels (s. matthews)



Also on choon:
choon.co/tracks/0wovlgz13op/fly-away-blue

And on soundcloud:



► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)

images.png

I am a proud member of @helpie
@helpie is now a w i t n e s s
♥ please consider gifting your vote to us ♥
images.png

Sort:  

That was lovely!

this is just lovely. you make country twang like a mamma's warm hug.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39