Sad Little Song (Broken Bird)

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


Since I'm talking about movies and such.. I thought I might share another.. this song is in a movie called "Cosmic Radio" ..but it sadly never really saw the light of day. The filmmaker (Stephen Savage) went on to bigger and more successful things. Can't fault him for that. I think he produced a car commercial that aired during the Superbowl. Can't remember. It was something fancy like that.

The movie was supposed to be released on Netflix, and then a tv network was supposed to pick it up, and then it just kind of disappeared. The soundtrack fizzled away. Michael Madsen is in it. Daryl Hannah, Jonathan Sachar, Wes Studi, Irene Bedard (the voice of Disney's pocahontas,) Rider Strong (Boy Meets World) and Taboo from the Black Eyed Peas. Taboo also put together all the music for the movie.

The movie is about a girl who partakes in "tree sitting" .. defending a forest from being cut down by the lumber industry. Hippie chick flick basically. Wish i could show you where my songs appears in the movie.. but like I said with "Staircase" .. copyright stuff.

I don't guess you can even see the movie anywhere. For all you know, I could be making all this stuff up. But I am not a liar, usually. The song is filled with dead air and flaws. In the movie they cleaned it up and made it sound better. But I only have my version. Hope you like it.

Sad Little Song (Broken Bird)

It's a gamble sometimes, just getting out of bed.
I can't watch the morning news anymore
because it always makes me cry, cry, cry
like an angry baby.

Baby, we should just jump this train
before they throw us overboard.

I've got my pride in my pocket.
We'll hold our heads high.
We will walk tall.
Let's go.

Or maybe we should crawl into a corner
far away from all these things.
We won't surface for awhile,
until things begin to change.
Change for the better.

(Till they change for the better.)

I feel like a bird in a broken cage.
I feel like a bird in a broken cage.

My wings have been clipped,
I can't fly.
My wings have been clipped,
I cannot fly.

I feel like a bird in a broken cage
with broken wings,
and it's a crying shame,
I could have flown so high.

I could have flown so high.
I could have kissed the sky.
I could have kissed the sky.

Like a bird in a broken cage,
here I am, I can't fly,
Like a bird in a broken cage.

Maybe I'll stay here till things
change for the better.
I'll be here in my broken cage.

Or maybe we should
jump this train.


©2018 paintingangels (s. matthews)



Also on choon:
choon.co/tracks/0wovlgz13op/fly-away-blue

And on soundcloud:


images.png

I am a proud member of @helpie
@helpie is now a w i t n e s s
♥ please consider gifting your vote to us ♥
images.png


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

Aw...Serena. My dear friend. Was this the first time I ever heard you? And your stunning and amazing talent? It might have been, so many years ago. I think it might have been. You still touch me and amaze me every day. Serener...

Thank you Dino . ♥♥♥
It might have been.. it was back in the old days when I recorded it.. for sure. : )

Yes. I remember. I've always loved this one. If it wasn't the very first time I heard you, it was close. Still just as beautiful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66363.68
ETH 3207.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27