Shotgun Ravens (Pale Night)

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)

I entered this song in open mic a couple weeks ago. I'd like to share my recorded version because I actually really like it. I did some harmony vocals and such. It's one of my darkest songs.

I was in a very dark place back when I wrote this, mentally not all there. But that's when I write most creatively, honestly. I write to get things OUT. Usually, that's the bad stuff.

Hope you like it, and thanks to all who listened to my open mic last time. I appreciate it a lot.


Shotgun, Ravens (Pale Night)

Ten thousand ravens came knocking,
knocking like thieves on my door.
Cold, i stared back like the dead tree bark
glued to these old breaking floors.

The maid, she brought down an old casket.
She lined it with Mama's old quilt
while roses were drawn back like shotguns,
draped softly here round my cold hips.

(And the raven said)

You, you should fly, dear.
For you, you will die here.

Strawberry pie in the oven sits,
waiting for strangers to dream
as they lie on the back porch and whisper
while thunderstorms rattle the screens.

I somehow can't seem to calm down now.
Where are the angels in white?
The man down the street, he is howling
and I have gone pale with the night.

And that raven cried..

(repeat chorus and Oooooh's and such)


Song and photo ©2018 paintingangels (s. matthews)



Also on choon with 50% split:
https://choon.co/tracks/0_wtgc5uu54/shotgun-ravens-pale-night

And on soundcloud:


images.png

I am a proud member of @helpie
@helpie is now a w i t n e s s
♥ please consider gifting your vote to us ♥
images.png


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63994.25
ETH 3062.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94