Red Sky (original)

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)

Sometimes, there arrives a time in an abusive relationship during which a victim gives up entirely on the notion of leaving, but doesn't submit, either.

"I can stay till the end, but I won't call you friend." Complicated. I think only the people who have experienced those kinds of moments are really the only ones who could ever understand those emotions.

My only song with piano accompaniment. Subtle, but it's there. This is one of my favorite recordings that I've done, actually.


Red Sky

This fog is thick
but I can see.
My eyes are closing
but my mind won't freeze

You threw me down
I stared at you
And I did not flee
as you smiled at me

Look at that sky
It warned me so well
Like deep scarlet sheets
on the bed of all hell

Well I'll tell you, my dear
I can stay till the end
but I can't stand to smile
and I won't call you friend

No, I won't call you friend

This fog is thick
but I can see
My eyes are closing
but my mind won't freeze

Well, look at that sky.
It warned me so well
like deep scarlet sheets
on the bed of all hell

Music and lyrics ©2018 paintingangels


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

deep scarlet sheets on the bed of all hell.

When I wrote Big Black Hole, that's the exact image I was looking for. But I had the hardest time finding the right words. Took me three verses and I still didn't get it right. You nailed it in nine words.

You are my hero. So much.

Love, Dino

Awwww.. I was off my meds. lol. It's where my best phrases come from.. so my songwriting advice is to become as crazy as me. ;) I think your lyrics are far better, though. That song is brilliant.
Hero twinsies
♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Sometimes, you blow me away with an entire song and a performance. And then you blow me away with just a phrase.

sigh

Such a beautiful song! I love it!
Angel of Light (793px, 5fps) (1).gif

Thanks so much, Clove! ❤️❤️❤️

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63478.09
ETH 3067.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81