Sort:  

Well, Tarantino is probably the most overrated filmmaker there is. 8 movies in, there is not a single opinion about the world... And I say that honestly not thinking of myself as a film snob heheh. (I love way too much, mainstream entertainment, to ever be even considered as one)

(I just wrote a mini article about his film)

As far as the Cohens go ... the different element I think. And yeah the color of the Ulysses story was amazing and "unique"

I must say I feel your pain, not having seen Jurassic Park in a theater hehhe... It was something. I remembered it quite well. And the also the jump I gave in the kitchen scene.

I didn't know you had a film podcast. I'll try to give it a listen.

No opinion on the world. Interesting view. I think I get what you mean though. It’s called ‘entertainment’ and most of Hollywood / the industry is guilty of the same ( and in it for the money ). The man knows his classics though and rocks at borrowing / copying( ingredients ) from them in a clever way.

Talking about the film podcast. For now it’s merely a recorded Skype call where my friend @Inuke and I talk movies ( and all kind of other stuff ) but I feel it’s the beginning of something much bigger

Áte a próxima vez! :>)

Posted using Partiko iOS

He defiantly knows his classics. But that's the other thing... every single thing in his movies are stolen... And they're like all the same. Violence, sharp dialog, "toy" characters and humor.

I like his movies though... He was my main influence in adolescent times. And no other film author has the weight he does. But seeing so many people saying he is the greatest .... I don't agree. That's why I say he is the most overrated.

Good luck with the podcast. All good things start from where they are.

I will still give it a listen.

Abraço!!

I’m a Coen Bros fan. I really enjoy everything they’ve done.
They portray the world in interesting ways with their stories, always with a touch of dark comedy.
You never quite know what to expect from them; but it’s definitely ‘them’.

I also saw Jurassic Park in the cinema, on a family trip out as a kid.
I didn’t know what to expect and it naturally blew me away.
After seeing the film we stopped off at a near by park and made giant Dinosaur ‘footprints’ in the wood chip on the ground. We felt like spreading the magic and wonder that we had experienced to passers by of the park :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

I agree with the ‘it’s definitely them’ part. You could call them auteurs. Their style / signature is in their work. I just can’t stand all the musical parts, haha but I like many of their earlier films

Your movie memory regarding to JP sounds pretty awesome too. I guess it left a lasting imprint ;>)

Posted using Partiko iOS

I LOVE the Coen Brothers. I like everything they do. Oh Brother was great.

Posted using Partiko Android

Not that keen on Tarantino. Pulp Fiction was awesome though.

Posted using Partiko Android

I should give it another watch. I kind of liked Reservoir Dogs and the Kill Bill movies were entertaining enough for a single viewing in cinema, back in the days, as was Inglorious Bastards. Haven’t seen anything post 2009

Posted using Partiko iOS

You'd probably hate The Hateful Eight. The movie is pretty disgusting, but the score by Ennio Morricone is great, and so is the absolutely brilliant cinematography by Robert Richardson (three-time Oscar winner.) Tarantino is just so derivative of other directors. Had to have Morricone because he worked for Leone, and had to have Richardson because he does most of Scorecese's films nowadays. I agree he's overrated.

PS I saw Jurassic Park in the cinema too, but I'm much older than you are. Love the drawing, so cute :

I don’t think I will hate it. I actually liked the idea of Western in the snow. Although I’m sure it’s taken from Sergio Corbucci’s Il Grande Silenzio. But yeah, that’s the thing with Tarantino it’s kind of a mishmash of the work of all the people that he likes and of course he can pay for the big names . legends to help him out. Form over content

How was the JP experience for some one in his ( mid? ) twenties?

Thanks for calling my drawing cute. I believe it was a self portrait. I’m wearing sports clothes :>)

Posted using Partiko iOS

I was 32 actually. I thought it was good. Loved the scene with the kids in the camper being attacked by the T-Rex. Less enthusiastic about Laura Dern; I just don't like her.

I seriously wonder how I would have liked JP as a 32 year old. I guess I will never get to know that. Maybe in another life?

Laura Dern is tough to like. I get it. I have difficulty with her crying face ( already as a young woman in Blue Velvet). Nevertheless, she managed to get hold of a part in at least two unforgettable films ( if I don't count Wild At Heart). Oh - and I think her father, Bruce, is a pretty cool actor :>)

I love Bruce; I don't like his daughter. She just rubs me the wrong way for some reason.

Congratulations @vincentnijman! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 7000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine challenge - Love is in the air!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Hello @vincentnijman, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02