Sharing the songwriting process with you

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


I thought this might be a good way to challenge my comfort zone and have a little fun. I'm going to share this song in it's infancy stages and show it again as it starts to grow and develop.

I like being raw and exposed. I don't mind people seeing that my technical skill is not as great as many other musicians. I don't mind making mistakes. I don't need things to be perfect. I think sharing the whole process and showing that anyone can make art, even without proper training is something I'd like to do. I want to let my story and my perspective share itself without any insecurities.

I can't say there are no insecurities here, but I kind of like this. I just think it needs to be developed a bit.

I just found these chords on guitar accidentally while messing around today. I started singing over it and practiced a few minutes in order to remember how I played it, then I recorded.

Sometimes songs just come like that. Sometimes I just have a chord or two that I really like and it takes a long time for something coherent to form.

They don't always reflect my mood exactly but I can usally pinpoint a topic which is inspiring such a melody, something which I had been focused on in the past few days or weeks and then I try to focus on that more as I develop the song. The lyrics will spring out of that focus.



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

Awesome!
It definitely has some Jeff Buckley vibes.

I'm always very interested in the creative process, so this does more to me than just ( listening to ) a completed song. I feel it more too.
In fact, I listened to it thrice in a row.

I'm looking forward to more of these posts, also because I just love imperfection.

Really!? I see the Jeff Buckley comparison on some of my older songs, but this one? I guess I’m can’t escape it hahah I sound a tiny bit like Jeff Buckley. That’s amazing.

A lot of times I think the song is best incomplete in its first few runs before I think too much, but I think sharing the creative process takes pressure off so I can actually improve it.

Hi Jeff,

I totally agree about sharing the creative process. That's one of the main reasons why I love collaborating with Ted ( my screenwriting buddy ) on film projects. His and mine ( creative ) brain combined work wonders. You have no idea how we can jam with words - when we talk story.

Well dang, I'm trying to listen but nothing's happening. Am I waiting for it to load on DSound?

Ahh, couldn't listen on DSound or IPFS. Maybe check it again & see if it took. I am also a musician, I have written many songs and really enjoy hearing other song-writers.

Hope you can get it working. I'll share one of my songs soon, gotta record it, make some video to go along.

Ahh? I also couldn’t listen but others seemed to have no problem. I guess I’ll need to post a different way next time?

Pineapple San, The music from the 01:30 till 02:05 can make a very pretty soundtrack for a movie where the characters final struggle is over and has won but with a great cost. He has won but still is lost.

But, I am more curious about the words that may accompany this tune.

PS : Can't wait for the final product

Sounds like the movie of my life. I’m not sure if it should going to get words but it probably will.... gotta see. Thanks for listening man! I’ll post more stuff soon!

Well learn it will very helpful when it comes of making songs

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73