"Lost In The Wave" [Blockchain Music Contest Round 3]

in #dsound5 years ago (edited)


Here is my entry into the 3rd round of the Blockchain Music Contest!

The theme for this round is "Spirituality". I have been working on a good chunk of music that is ambient and atmospheric but with an upbeat tempo for a couple of years now. It all started after I binge-watched the first season of Stranger Things and was inspired to make an [unreleased] instrumental EP based off of the emotions and vibes I translated from the show into music. I really liked how it turned out and got a great reception from people I had listen to it so I decided to continue making music in that vein to be utilized at some point in time.
I usually work on these songs in spurts and I had just started working on some of it again a few days before this contest was announced so it worked out very well.

With this one, I wanted to go for an underlying tropical feel so I used a hangdrum and mallet to give it that feel, which may be my favourite sounds in the song. To give it that atmospheric vibe I utilized a few different pads and an airy vox. The 2nd verse uses a synth-based kalimba to kick things off for the bridge/breakdown and to sound similar to the hangdrum and mallet used prior to and after it.
Outside of that I utilized a lot of sweeps,waves,vox hits [some of them in reverse] and subtle hits to transition and add to the atmospheric vibe.
I honestly was really struggling to get a kick that I was satisfied with initially for this one. I ended up using 4 different kick sounds to achieve what I saw as satisfactory haha. There is also 3 different claps layered together and some simple shakers and hi-hats for percussion.

I made this song in FL Studio which has been my DAW of choice since I started producing music almost 14 years ago!

Looking forward to listening to all of the different entries in this as I think the theme will bring forth some really cool tunes!



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Choon: https://choon.co/tracks/0gn4wrmjl3f/lost-in-the-wave/

Sort:  

Congratulations @yamaagni! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 2000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Had to reSteem that one for sure! This one had a very European club feel to it, I definitely dig it! Akin to Calvin Harris maybe, I can’t place it currently. As I stated in my other comment I think @perceptualflaws would dig these songs, hopefully you drop him a comment with one of them.

I just checked out his most recent post and I am definitely going to do that [as much as I don't like promoting my own stuff I need to start doing it more haha]. I really dig what he is doing over there. Thank you for the reccomendation and for once again giving my stuff a listen!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.40
ETH 3576.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75