Plan or a Plot (instrumental)

in #dsound6 years ago


This is the only instrumental Ive ever made where I thought of the hook before I made the beat itself. I watched a video of Kel Mitchell rapping the intro to his old show Keenan and Kel, and I knew right away I wanted to use the part where he says "And ya better watch Keenan cause Keenan be schemin' with a plan or a plot to make it to the top." I was driving around that day, delivery driving, and I heard that EPMD song "It's Your Thing," which made me think to rhyme "Don't get to close or you might get shot!" with the Kel verse. A few songs later, I heard "What I Got" by Sublime, and from there I rounded out the hook in my mind. When I got off work I raced home and assembled the hook, and when it was done I obviously had to wonder what I was going to do with the rest of the beat, you know, like the *entire* beat which I hadn't even started, so I pulled out my favorite sample-- E.V.A. by Jean Jacques Perry. I chopped the hell out of the melody and played with the pitch, and I also tried to isolate the baseline which was harder than I anticipated. The end notes were all running together, so I found another song that had a similar bass but with more pronounced notes, and I spliced the two bass samples together to make one groove. That song was Holy Thursday by David Axelrod, and it also ended up supplying me with the crucial sample for the hook. Overall, it was one of the most involved/ complicated songs I've ever made, but the whole thing came together piece by piece, and it all started with hearing that hook, driving around in my car and delivering sandwiches.
► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

Lo importante es que pudistes superar las adversidades! Felicidades!

Excellent my brother, success.

hello friend I can not see the video I have problems with the Internet, I'm sure everything you publish is of great interest}
happy and blessed night

Saludos @youdontsay, excelente el trabajo que realizas con esa música instrumental

good video friend, instrumental music helps us to relax and concentrate
Happy Sunday for you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61482.47
ETH 2990.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67