Be my valentine... My Helen Of Troy

in #dsw5 years ago

be-my-valentine-1452511525yBy.jpg
Image Source

Hello everyone,
This was my entry for yesterday's dsw(Discord Spoken Word) show which was themed 'Be my valentine'. It was a beautiful show, filled with smiles and laughter and wonderful music. Well having suffered from writers block for a couple of months now, I was finally able to write again. This piece is dedicated to My Valentine. I hope you enjoy it.

So here's a trick I learnt a few days ago, ensure you are playing the song(don't worry, it won't redirect you to any page) just click play and enjoy this piece



Would you be my valentine?
Would you be the one to love me through the night?
When darkness comes
And the stars hide their light
Would your love, be our guide?

3156a009079247d222d6e06390190bc0816111ee.png

Would you be my valentine?
Would you be the ears that listen
To my every nagging uncertainty
The compass to point me in the appropriate direction
Even when stubbornness and despair seems to be my only reaction
Would you speak softly and be the guiding voice
Would you be the light at the top of my tower waiting patiently for my return
Even after my long wanderings across vast destinations

3156a009079247d222d6e06390190bc0816111ee.png

Would you be my valentine?
Would you be my Helen of Troy
You are already prettier than aphrodite
And brighter than Apollos
With electricity coursing through my veins whenever I think of you
The likes of which could even make Zeus jealous.
All that's left is for me to go to war for you.

3156a009079247d222d6e06390190bc0816111ee.png

Would you be my valentine?
I guess you now know there's more to this simple question
Its a bent knee shy of a marriage proposal
But that's my love for you, its noble, its simple, it's complete, it's total
Would you be my Valentine, say Yes
I can't wait to come closer...

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09