Kodak Pro Image 100 - New To Europe

in #dtube5 years ago


Kodak recently brought the Proimage 100 35mm film to Europe. It was met with much excitement on the film photography scene. Prior to this, it was only available Asia and South America, and I can imagine, in Africa.

It’s a 100 speed film so It was clearly designed for lots of light, which is what you’d get in countries like India, Brazil and South Africa. What you’d also get in these countries is a lot of colour, so I can imagine Kodak probably took that into consideration.

83500003.JPG

In terms of characteristics, it apparently sits somewhere between Portra and Ektar. Portra as you may know, has muted colours and is suited for photographing people. Ektar on the other hand is very saturated and brings out the colourful glory of landscape scenes. It probably adds a little more colour than deserved.

Since the Agfa Vista 200 got discontinued, it’s become quite expensive for me to shoot as much as I used to for testing cameras. I’ve been looking for a replacement. While this is a professional film, it is marginally cheaper than Portra or Ektar at just over £5 depending on how and where you buy it.

I gave it a spin on a sunny day in London, trying to replicate the kind of light and colour you would find in the countries where the film was originally sold.

My impression is based on shooting just one roll so far though. I used the Canon FX with the 50mm F1.8 lens. Also, it was freezing cold, so I missed a lot of shots while trying to take off my gloves to focus.

The colours were much more vibrant than Portra, but less rich than Ektar, just as expected. The dynamic range did well with the harsh lights and shadows scenarios too. Most films do well with that anyway.
Being a professional film, the grain is much finer than the AgfaPhoto Vista Plus 200. I’m not sure if that’s necessarily good for me. I like the grain.

I think I’m going to shoot more of this film. If anything, to support Kodak and signal to them that we want, and will buy, new film. If we buy it, the will make it.

83500018.JPG

83500014.JPG

83500020.JPG



banner-grey.jpg

Peace and Love ✌🏿
Adé

All copy and photos are original content by me.
© adetorrent.com


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Cool, brings me to the idea to wake up the old Nikon.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Do it! Which Nikon is it? F2?

I thought that films are not used anymore @adetorrent
They might give nice photographs but the resulting photos just fades away in time.

A few people (like me) are still using it :)
If you keep them a way from direct sunlight, they will last longer. Also, you can scan the negatives or reprint them for fresh photos.

check out the #filmphotography tag; film is kickin', and analog prints are still the best quality you can get on paper (the least fading).
I'm biased ;)

This is a real education for me. I thought Gil was dead. Do you have to mail it in for developing? Or do you develop it yourself? I grew up in a time when there were film development kiosks everywhere. Film developers must be a very rare breed today.

There is a very popular hashtag #filmisnotdead haha. I think that answers your question :)
I'm lucky to live in London where these stores are still there and you can walk in to them and hand the film in. I also sometimes develop at home, but rarely.

The Labs can do it better than I can, and faster, so i use them :)

Ha ha #filmisnotdead. I love it!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I like how picking a film makes you look for different characteristics/subjects - brings more mindfulness in your photography. My two fav pics are the red soda can in a tree and the very pink poster on a wall with all the lights and shadows surrounding it :-)

You're not biased at all of course ;) . Anyway that's proof that Buds really grow on trees in England, and then stollen by the Dutch. :)
I like the pink poster too. It's one of the shots I actually missed. A few seconds beforeI took the shot, a blonde lady came walking with a bright pink top. It was perfect, but I couldn't focus fast enough (manually in the freezing cold wearing gloves).

Biased? You don't think Budweiser is related to the Dutch in any way, right? :D

It was perfect, but I couldn't focus fast enough

Oh...! Reminds me of a series of blogs I wrote once, years ago, 'pictures I didn't take' - should pick that one up again. It hurts :D

Well new toy to play with. Maybe one day you land me a film camera with all the useful explanations so I can try it :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Let's do it this week if you're free! :) .

I guess it may be new to africa also as i am hearing about this for the first time

This was probably before your time :) .. probably in the 70's-80's.

Congratulations @adetorrent! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I think it will be a great way to get photos of the Spring when it comes around finally!

Posted using Partiko iOS

If we buy it, they will make it.

WORD!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70839.13
ETH 3563.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77