My Kind Of Workout!

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


Hey Steemit friends!

I’ve finally made my first Dtube video! I’ve had a few requests and suggestions from some of my followers to get involved in this community, and I’m so excited to be joining another amazing group!

Since I’ve already shared some workouts that I do with my clients via my blog, I thought that for my first video I’d let you guys in on some of the things that I’m personally doing right now for my own fitness - sharing is caring when it comes to getting healthy, right? I hope some of it might appeal to you, and that you can get a great sweat out of it!

Right now my boyfriend Chris and I are trying out a 6 week program created by Jim Stoppani (I LOVE him, super smart guy with a background in science and I like to nerd out on all of his stuff) called “Shortcut to Shred” that I found through bodybuilding.com quite some time ago.

I’ve wanted to try this out for awhile, but had been so involved in Crossfit that I didn’t have the time or energy - but now that our competitive ‘season’ is over, it seemed like the perfect time to step back and give this a shot! It’s nice as coaches to rely on a program that’s been written by someone else, because it’s much easier to slack or deviate from the plan if you write it yourself! Even coaches need coaches!

Speaking of deviating from the plan, since Chris and I are members at a Crossfit gym and not a more traditional fitness/bodybuilding facility, we don’t always have access to the equipment or machines necessary to follow this program to the letter - instead, we try to substitute exercises that can replicate the intentions of the ones outlined in the “shortcut” or with other exercises we find to be effective or things we want to work on. So we’ve definitely taken Mr. Stoppani’s concept and tweaked it to fit our surroundings and needs!

How this workout style works is pretty interesting, due to a concept he calls “cardio acceleration,” which means that you intersperse bouts of high-intensity cardiovascular exercise in between your sets of strength exercises. Basically, you do a set of a lift, then get straight into a full minute of the most intense cardio you can manage, then go on to the next set of the lift, followed by another minute of cardio and so on, resting as little as possible.

The cardio exercises can be anything: box step ups, burpees, jump rope, high knees, squat jumps, ball slams, dumbbell cleans, running sprints… Whatever gets your heart rate as high as possible and leaves you sucking wind will do!

So today, our workout looked like this:

Perform 12-15 reps of each of the following per set:

3 sets Wide Grip Pull Ups
3 sets Chin Ups
3 sets Straight Arm Pull Down
4 sets Barbell Cleans
3 sets Incline Curls
3 sets Hammer Curls
3 sets Squats
3 sets Weighted Box Step Ups

This program is super fun because you’re always moving, can change up the cardio whenever you want, and there are manageable amounts of sets of each exercise so that you move on to a new one fairly quickly. It’s great for those of you who, like me, may have a shorter attention span ;)

Also, please keep in mind that this is my very first attempt at Dtube! I know I have a lot of learning to do and jitters to shake off, so I hope to keep improving my content for you in the future - I promise the next video won’t be in portrait mode! :D

I’d love to hear what kinds of videos you’d like to see, so please reach out to me with any topics you’d like to see covered!

Also, if you give this workout a try let me know - I hope you like it as much as I do! Cheers to a healthy and happy weekend!

Music cred
2
3

My Post (1).jpg


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

those abs tho!

Thanks friend! :D

great video

Thank you so much for your constant support! :)

you're welcome

Love your video. Thank you so much for sharing. Sharing is caring :)
Looking forward to watching your next video!

Thank you!! I'm thrilled you enjoyed it :) it was fun to make! I hope to get another one up here soon!

Great Video! Sooo Glad to see you on DTUBE! Welcome, Welcome! Looking forward to more of your videos. If I may make a recommendation, if you can film in landscape mode next video it will fill the screen 😀❤️. Otherwise, welcome once again. Awesome to have a coach dtube, can't wait to get back in the groove of working out.

Thank you so much!! You're so kind :) I promise I will change to landscape mode next time haha, that was a pretty big "oops" on my part! I appreciate the suggestion - please keep them coming, I really want to keep improving and I need all the help I can get :)

You're awesome, thanks so much for your support - I'm excited to keep sharing! Please let me know if you ever have any questions or you'd like any topics covered in upcoming videos! :D

Great demonstration. You definitely should do that more in the future. Sounds like a great work out routine. I'm 50 and my biggest challenge is staying in shape but I am really motivated now.

I am so glad that could could help motivate you! And thank you for those kinds words, I have been giving DTube a lot of thought recently and I think I will start to make more videos! I am glad you enjoyed this one :) Give this workout a shot if you have the chance! It was a ton of fun and really challenging! :)

cover photo is too hot,attractive.

Haha thanks my friend!

Great first video! You are the real deal @annemariemay. Looking forward to learning from you. Great work. Welcome to Dtube #dtubefitness!!!

Thank you!! I am so excited to join the DTube community! I have been a big fan ever since I joined Steemit and I am thrilled to now be a part of it! :) Thanks so much for watching and taking the time to leave such a sweet comment! :)

Wow! Good job :) It's nice having you here and hope to see more videos soon :)

Thank you! I can't wait to make more! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84