SOMETHING AWFUL - an original song for @cityofstars' BIGGEST CONTEST EVER! - a Dtube exclusive :)

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


This is my entry for @cityofstars' BIGGEST CONTEST EVER! I had this old, messy backing track, with backing vocals, second guitars, electric guitar leads, bucket drums and shakers and sticks. I decided to clean it up, remix it, and add brand new rhythm guitars and lead vocals. I forgot how time consuming and frustrating mixing can be! I did the best editing and mixing job I could in the timeframe I had, which was only a few hours after I got the recordings done and synched with the video. Sometimes to produce pieces in the moment you have to learn to let go of the idea of perfection... and have fun with it ;) So here it is, still messy but hopefully fun to listen to!

Big thanks to my friend @cityofstars for this amazing contest, and also for your patience :) :) :)


Lyrics:

Are you always gonna be that thing I want
But can never truly have?
And any tiny taste I take
I know I'm being bad
Oh every little taste we take
Only makes us sad
But it's better than nothing
It's better than nothing

So turn to me with that hungry
Hurt look in your eyes
We have gone so far beyond
Taking comfort in lies
But to feel my fingers on your skin one more time
Is better than nothing
It's better than nothing

And I love the taste of you
So I'll taste you 'til there's
Nothing left
I'll hold you to my body
Like a smoker with a cigarette
A junkie with a needle
I'll take what I can get
'Cause I don't need you
But I want you
Something awful

And if you leave today who knows
When you'll be coming back?
It could be never
And who wants that?
The drape of your hair
Quirk of your lips
Only your eyes laugh
But it's better than nothing
It's better than nothing

And I love the taste of you
So I'll taste you 'til there's
Nothing left
I'll hold you to my body
Like a smoker with a cigarette
A junkie with a needle
I'll take what I can get
'Cause I don't need you
But I want you
Something awful

Something awful


©2019 Bennett Italia


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

good one man !

Glad you liked it! :D

Posted using Partiko Android

so is he having her/him for dinner literally or was this just my sick mind thinking that ?

Lol it totally does sound like that! Not intentional tho ;D

Hi @bennettitalia!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.304 which ranks you at #7940 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 232 contributions, your post is ranked at #143.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17