SUNDAY SONGWRITE OF THE WEEK - 2/10/19 - DISTANCES TOO GREAT TO CROSS - a Dtube exclusive!

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


It's the Half Hour Songwrite Challenge SUNDAY SONG OF THE WEEK! 💛

Thanks so much to everyone who weighed in this week! DISTANCES TOO GREAT TO CROSS won by a landslide :)

It wasn't easy to write more lyrics for this one... I felt like the original songwrite pretty much stood on its own and at first didn't know what to add. The second verse was pretty easy, just an elaboration of what I'd already written, but I like the bridge to bring a different slant to the theme, and wasn't sure where to go with that. It took a while, but I do like the bridge/coda I finally came up with.

A heartfelt thanks to all of you for listening, commenting, and suggesting such interesting prompts :)


HALF HOUR SONGWRITE CHALLENGE is an ongoing Dtube vlog. Three times/week I challenge myself to write a song in 30 minutes, using a one word prompt provided by viewers through the Pick-a-Prompt Contest. On the fourth day I recap the week's writes, and ask viewers to vote for their favorite. The winning piece is finished up and posted as the song of the week on Sunday.

Pick-a-Prompt is a contest that runs every Friday, Saturday, and Sunday on Dtube. I ask a random question, and viewers submit their answers. Winning prompts receive 3 Steem basic Income shares, and are used for the following day's Half Hour Songwrite Challenge! Promptketeers who participate in all three contests in any given week receive 1 SBI :)

Thank you thank you thank you to everyone who submitted prompts this week! So many amazing, creative, challenging, quirky, and occasionally laugh-out-loud wacky prompt ideas, I have as much fun reading prompts as I do writing songs. You guys rock epically :)

@tibfox, @dmilliz, @wonderwop, @iamjadeline, @mariannewest, @fitinfun, @roundbeargames, @vincy, @wordymouth, @onnovocks, @kaelci, [@masud91], @cityofstars, @sugarfix, @wandrnrose7, @theureview, @kaerpediem, @marvyinnovation, @improv, @sunravelme, @sima369, @mimismartypants, @girlbeforemirror, @praditya, @wakeupkitty, @alimamasstory


Lyrics:

DISTANCES TOO GREAT TO CROSS

When the distance between you and me
Over land and sky and sea
Across the frozen wastes the jungles
Deep and green
Seems too great to cross

I close my eyes in sleep
Wishing to be where I can't be
So when I go out like a light
The miles seem to fall away

And I have left my body
Sleeping here again
To travel 'round the
World visiting
All the loves
I've ever lost
To distances too great to cross

Distances too great to cross

So if I haunt you like a ghost
It's only 'cause we're far too close
To be so far apart and I'll do
Anything I can to see you

I have left my body
Lying there again
To wander 'round the
World visiting
All the loves
I've ever lost
To distances too great to cross

Distances too great to cross

Oh no
Don't let go
'Cause I can hear your heart
No matter how far away you are

It's
Like this
Echo in the dark
The afterimage of a shooting star

I've left my body
Sleeping here again
To wander 'round the
World visiting
All the loves
I've ever lost
To distances too great to cross

Oh I have left my body
Sleeping here again
To travel 'round the
World visiting
All the loves
I've ever lost
To distances too great to cross

Distances too great to cross

Oh no
Don't let go
'Cause I can hear your heart
No matter how far away you are

It's
Like this
Echo in the dark
The afterimage of a shooting star


© 2019 Bennett Italia, All Rights Reserved


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

You are a good song writer dude ! >Echo in the dark , afterimage of a shooting star ‘

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks man! I'm definitely getting a TON of practice XD

Nailed it buddy. 👏

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks man! I really like the way this one came out :)

Also...

Dude! You should totally be my drummer!!!

Wow!!! You are talented to be able to do this like everyday...
NIceeeeeee
No wonder it won

:D thank you so much @kaerpediem, glad you enjoyed it! I like this one too :)

!sbi status

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @bennettitalia!

  • you have 116 units and 25 bonus units
  • your rshares balance is 290795550228 or 0.140 $
  • your next SBI upvote is predicted to be 0.028 $

This post was spotted by @theluvbug and has received a 100% upvote and/or a resteem.
If you would like to possibly receive future support from @theluvbug
then please make use of the #theluvbug tag.

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of AWESOME Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Hello @bennettitalia, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Hi @bennettitalia!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.322 which ranks you at #7837 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 192 contributions, your post is ranked at #96.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62710.59
ETH 3048.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77