Half Hour Songwrite Challenge WEEKLY RECAP & VOTE! - Pick your favorite songwrite to feature in Sunday's song-of-the-week post 💛 2/7/19 - a Dtube exclusive!

in #dtube5 years ago


It's the Half Hour Songwrite Challenge WEEKLY RECAP! 💛

This week's selections:

  1. I NEED SPACE (prompt: DEMANDING SPACE IN A CROWDED ELEVATOR, by @marvyinnovation)

  2. DISTANCES TOO GREAT TO CROSS (prompt: HUG FOR MY AUNTS IN ITALY (AND BOWL OF PASTA) by @wonderwop)

  3. IRL (prompt: VIDEO GAME TEABAGGING, by @improv)

One of these entries will become a finished song. But which one? YOU decide, by voting for it! Simply comment the name and/or prompt of the song you'd like to see finished. The entry with the most votes will be outfitted with additional verses, choruses, bridges, codas, and other bells and whistles as needed, and arranged and recorded for Sunday's post. All voters will receive a 100% upvote from me as a thank you for weighing in :)

Remember: 1 vote here + 2 or more pick-a-prompt suggestions this week = 1 Steem Basic Income weekly participation prize :D

Thank you to all of the PICK-A-PROMPTers! So many amazing, creative, challenging, quirky, and occasionally laugh-out-loud wacky prompt ideas, I have as much fun reading prompts as I do writing songs :)

@tibfox, @dmilliz, @wonderwop, @iamjadeline, @mariannewest, @fitinfun, @roundbeargames, @vincy, @wordymouth, @onnovocks, @kaelci, [@masud91], @cityofstars, @sugarfix, @wandrnrose7, @theureview, @kaerpediem, @marvyinnovation, @improv, @sunravelme, @sima369, @mimismartypants, @girlbeforemirror, @praditya, @wakeupkitty, @alimamasstory


HALF HOUR SONGWRITE CHALLENGE is an ongoing daily Dtube vlog. Each day I challenge myself to write a song in 30 minutes, using a one word prompt provided by the Pick-a-Prompt contest, by a random word generator (https://wordcounter.net/random-word-generator), or by @mariannewest's daily freewrite on the Steem blockchain.

*PICK-A-PROMPT is a contest that runs every Friday, Saturday, and Sunday on Dtube. Winning prompts receive 3 Steem basic Income shares, and are used for the following day's Half Hour Songwrite Challenge! Pick-a-Prompters who participate 3 or more times in any given week (includes casting votes for the SUNDAY SONG OF THE WEEK) receive 1 SBI :)


Lyrics:


I NEED SPACE

Gross eww
I don't wanna talk 2 u
I need space

What's up with that hair?
Stop breathing my air
I need space

I need space
Everybody out of the car
I wanna drive so fast
I wanna drive so far
From star to star
My only wish
To pretend none of you exist
I need space
Gimme space

No please stay
It's opposite day
I need space

So wipe that face
Offa yer face
I need space

I need space
Everybody out of the house
I got a gas can an' a match
And I'll burn it down
Right to the ground
Just to get you to leave
'Cuz I'm sick to death of everybody
I need space

And when I dance like nobody's watching
I want it to be because
Nobody's watching
At all
I don't want anybody here to catch me
If I fall
And I will fall
I'll fall
So gimme space!


DISTANCES TOO GREAT TO CROSS

When the distance between you and me
Over land and sky and sea
Across the frozen wastes the jungles
Deep and green
Seems too great to cross

I close my eyes in sleep
Wishing to be where I can't be
So when I go out like a light
The miles seem to fall away

And I have left my body
Sleeping here again
To travel 'round the
World visiting
All the loves
I've ever lost
To distances too great to cross

Distances too great to cross


IRL

IRL you can't respawn
And yes, it's just a game
But still it seems wrong
Come on...
We're only ghosts in a machine

So no one can see your face?
That doesn't mean your soul is safe
In this place
No one can hear you scream

And you are
Your avatar
So better hope
That you respawn
IRL

IRL

Reality
Is virtual
But you should take
It personal
IRL

IRL

'Cause if you look too close
You can see your ghost
In a hard candy robot shell

IRL


©2018 Bennett Italia, All Rights Reserved


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

My vote to #2

Thanks for voting! Your pick won :D

Posted using Partiko Android

My vote is for:

DISTANCES TOO GREAT TO CROSS (prompt: HUG FOR MY AUNTS IN ITALY (AND BOWL OF PASTA) by @wonderwop)

Thanks so much for voting! Your pick won :D

🤣🤣🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

LMAO too funny XD

Ughhhh this is hard!! I'm swaying between #1 and #2, the first one is funnyyyy but the second one is sentimental. Hmmmmm I'll pick #2 this time. Cry me a riverrrrr

Lol cry me a river...thank you so much for voting @alimamastory :D

I'm voting for #2 💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for voting! Your pick won :D

Posted using Partiko Android

First DTube comment for me, exploring and checking out what folks are doing. Fun episode!

Thanks man! Glad you enjoyed it :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello @bennettitalia, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Hi, @bennettitalia!

You just got a 11.12% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @bennettitalia!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.304 which ranks you at #7940 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 187 contributions, your post is ranked at #75.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73