SUNDAY SONGWRITE OF THE WEEK - 3/17/19 - ANGELS' WINGS

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


It's the Half Hour Songwrite Challenge SUNDAY SONG OF THE WEEK! 💛

There were no HHSC episodes this week, but I wanted to post something, so I ad libbed and finished Angel's Wings. I butchered the performance, but I do like the finished song. Maybe @owasco can be convinced to cover it on Dtube! If you want to see that, leave some encouraging comments for her please ;D

A heartfelt thanks to all of you for listening, commenting, and suggesting such interesting prompts :)

And for hanging in there with me while I try to catch up enough to post on a regular basis... I wrote and recorded all 3 songwrites for the coming week yesterday, so posting should be easy regardless of what's going on! See you on tomorrow's Half Hour Songwrite Challenge :)


HALF HOUR SONGWRITE CHALLENGE is an ongoing Dtube vlog. Three times/week I challenge myself to write a song in 30 minutes, using a one word prompt provided by viewers through the Pick-a-Prompt Contest. On the fourth day I recap the week's writes, and ask viewers to vote for their favorite. The winning piece is finished up and posted as the song of the week on Sunday.

Pick-a-Prompt is a contest that runs 3x/week on Dtube. I ask a random question, and viewers submit their answers. Winning prompts receive 4 Steem basic Income shares, and are used for the following day's Half Hour Songwrite Challenge! Promptketeers who participate in all three contests in any given week receive 1 SBI :)

Thank you thank you thank you to everyone who submitted prompts this week! So many amazing, creative, challenging, quirky, and occasionally laugh-out-loud wacky prompt ideas, I have as much fun reading prompts as I do writing songs. You guys rock epically :)

@dmilliz, @wonderwop, @iamjadeline, @mariannewest, @fitinfun, @roundbeargames, @kaelci, @cityofstars, @sugarfix, @wandrnrose7, @marvyinnovation, @improv, @sunravelme, @mimismartypants, @girlbeforemirror, @wakeupkitty, @owasco, @emergehealthier, @duanesworld, @clixmoney



Lyrics:

ANGELS' WINGS

For you I would walk across hot coals
My soul is yours to keep
The Devil's tried so many times
To take what I give you willingly
If life is fragile
Then so is death
And I want to be by your side
With every breath
So I'd better learn to trust you
With breakable things
Because even the Devil once wore angels' wings

I don't mind falling apart
As long as I'm in your arms
And I will catch you if you start to fall
Shield you to keep you from harm
For life is fragile
But so is death
And we share one heartbeat
We share one breath
So I'd better learn to trust you
With breakable things
They say even the Devil once wore angels' wings

And if we fly
We fly together
If we fall
We fall
I
Am yours forever
Lover you
Are my all
You are my all

So I'd better learn to trust you
With breakable things
For they say even the Devil once wore angels' wings


© 2019 Bennett Italia, All Rights Reserved


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

You are oozing with talent. Keep them coming 😃

This feedback was posted by kaerpediem💃🏽 through OneLoveCuration Discord Bot.

Awww... thank you!!!

So awesome @bennettitalia, such a kick ass song. I'm gonna sing it solo...so low you can't hear me! 🤣🤣🤣 @owasco this one's for you!!! 👏

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm going to try! If @bennettitalia can do all this, I can learn his lovely song. The biggest challenge will be figuring out how to record it and get it on here. I had no idea what I was getting myself into when I joined Steem!

Yay!!! Big smile on my face. Thank you. I hope she does it!

LMAO "solo"...that just caught up with me. Glad you like the finished version Bruni :D

I'm going to try! If @bennettitalia can do all this, I can learn his lovely song. The biggest challenge will be figuring out how to record it and get it on here. I had no idea what I was getting myself into when I joined Steem!

I'm going to try! If @bennettitalia can do all this, I can learn his lovely song. The biggest challenge will be figuring out how to record it and get it on here. I had no idea what I was getting myself into when I joined Steem!

Sorry about all the repeat comments! Steempeak kept telling me it hadn't broadcast, so I went over to Steemit to do it again.

Lol that's happened to me before...just last week I double posted on Dtube. It said error and then posted anyway!

Posted using Partiko Android

do you know of a Dtube for Dummies guide? I think it might be time I did.

It is a little bit convoluted, like everything on the blockchain XD

To sign in: use your private posting key. Find this by going to your wallet and clicking on PERMISSIONS. once you're there click "show private key" to the right of the POSTING key. Highlight the resulting passcode, copy it, and paste it into the PRIVATE POSTING KEY box when signing into dtube.

They might also have a steem connect option for signing in.

Once you're signed in, click "upload". Drag and drop your video into the upload box, and upload will begin. Wait til the upload is complete before entering title, text, and tags. Once upload is complete and all that is entered, click on UPLOAD SNAP to upload a picture that will sort of be the face of your video. Once snap upload is done click "submit".

Hopefully it goes through.

If it doesn't...

I've found that using an incognito window works. Either that or clearing cookies.

It sounds crazy complex but...like everything else on here, it becomes simple once we've got the hang of it ;D

LMK if I can help with it in any way. Sorry no chords yet, I was having frustrating computer issues last night and ran out of time... Will post them tonight :)

Thank you for that! It's very clear, I should be able to follow those instructions. It will be a couple weeks before I pull it off though. I'm excited about it, and parts of the song running in my head (the angels once had devil's wings) all day long.

I don't think I need an actual chart if that makes things easier. I will be able to hear where the chords belong but it would be very helpful to know what they are.

Loading...

great song ben !!

I love this.I love everything about this post. I love the song, I love that you've spoken to me, I love (and am terrified) that you've challenged me back, I love that others are hoping to hear me sing it. This is Steem community building at its best.

Yes, I would definitely like to have the chords, as simple as possible. I'm a beginner musician! And I also have no idea how to record this to get it up on Steem. But I do want to give back after your generosity and since my upvote is still worthless, I'm going to sing this lovely song for you. I will be rewarded over and over again for coming up with one little four word good idea.

I'm having a year of wonders here on Steem. Thank you all for being such a huge part of that.

Stacey

Yes!

I love the community here so much <3 and this takes the cocreation aspect to a whole other level. I know @clixmoney wants to do a cover of TRY, so I'm gonna finish that one up as well and get him chords. How fun! I hope I wasn't too pushy with this @owasco I just really want to hear your version.

I'll post chords here this evening, and if you need any help/advice with the video and upload aspect hmu either on partiko messenger or on discord @bennettitalia#1906

Posted using Partiko Android

Also: words can't express my gratitude to all of you who are prompting. It's truly a collaborative exercise for me as I wouldn't have written any of these songs on my own. Not anything even remotely like many of them. This is taking me in so many new directions as a writer... I literally couldn't do it without you!

Posted using Partiko Android

Great job, I enjoyed your song. I look forward to @owasco doing a cover of it!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @bennettitalia!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.352 which ranks you at #7694 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 7695).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 203 contributions, your post is ranked at #141.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hi, @bennettitalia!

You just got a 9.24% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70810.22
ETH 3571.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73