SUNDAY SONGWRITE OF THE WEEK - 3/4/19 - FILTERS - a Dtube exclusive!

in #dtube5 years ago


It's the Half Hour Songwrite Challenge SUNDAY SONG OF THE WEEK! 💛

Thanks so much to everyone who weighed in this week! FILTERS won by a landslide :)

I butchered the lyrics in several places, but other than that this was a reasonable performance I think. The full lyrics are printed below.

This song was finished two Saturdays ago, but then the emergency HHSC hiatus started, so it's only getting posted now. I tweaked it slightly before recording, but basically it's what I originally wrote.

Very excited to be back and looking forward to an amazing week on the Half Hour Songwrite Challenge!

A heartfelt thanks to all of you for listening, commenting, and suggesting such interesting prompts :)


HALF HOUR SONGWRITE CHALLENGE is an ongoing Dtube vlog. Three times/week I challenge myself to write a song in 30 minutes, using a one word prompt provided by viewers through the Pick-a-Prompt Contest. On the fourth day I recap the week's writes, and ask viewers to vote for their favorite. The winning piece is finished up and posted as the song of the week on Sunday.

Pick-a-Prompt is a contest that runs 3x/week on Dtube. I ask a random question, and viewers submit their answers. Winning prompts receive 4 Steem basic Income shares, and are used for the following day's Half Hour Songwrite Challenge! Promptketeers who participate in all three contests in any given week receive 1 SBI :)

Thank you thank you thank you to everyone who submitted prompts this week! So many amazing, creative, challenging, quirky, and occasionally laugh-out-loud wacky prompt ideas, I have as much fun reading prompts as I do writing songs. You guys rock epically :)

@tibfox, @dmilliz, @wonderwop, @iamjadeline, @mariannewest, @fitinfun, @roundbeargames, @vincy, @wordymouth, @onnovocks, @kaelci, [@masud91], @cityofstars, @sugarfix, @wandrnrose7, @theureview, @kaerpediem, @marvyinnovation, @improv, @sunravelme, @sima369, @mimismartypants, @girlbeforemirror, @praditya, @wakeupkitty, @alimamasstory


Lyrics:

FILTERS

If nothing is forever
Then everything is forever
Energy is neither
Created or destroyed
As above
So below
Over and over
Everybody knows
I'm going to get you out of your clothes
But what I really want to know
Is the shape of your soul
The shape of your soul

So slip out of that makeup
There's no need to lie
Show me every circle
Show me
Every line

Undo the sarcasm
Take off the alcohol
I want to see you girl
As you truly are
No filters at all

If I had x-ray vision
No look could be deceiving
My eyes might undress you
Down to your heart
As it is
I need you
To
Lose the layers
Anyone can see
I'm going to take you home with me
But what I really need to trace
Is the shape of your soul
The shape of your soul

So unzip the self-image
And draw outside the lines
Show me every little
Unforgivable crime
Unhook the need to conform
To some sterile ideal
I need to see you girl
As you truly are
Messy
And real

It's what we've come here for
Let's not waste each others' time
I promise
To show you yours
If you
Will show me mine

My broken mirror valentine

Slip out of that pretense
Like a butterfly
Unravel every little
Forgettable line
Unbutton the perfection
Every angel must fall
I need to see you sweat
I need to hear you cry
No filters at all

I need to see you girl
As you truly are
No filters at all


© 2019 Bennett Italia, All Rights Reserved


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

lol great one ben hehe :)

Glad you liked it!

I think its better you have no x-ray vision you might be shocked if you see what you see...

Well done

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha yes, I see your point :D

Thanks @wakeupkitty <3

Hi @bennettitalia!

  • you have 116 units and 25 bonus units
  • your rshares balance is 1812493486259 or 1.109 $
  • your next SBI upvote is predicted to be 0.222 $


    Did you know Steem Basic Income has a Quality Policy?

Hi, @bennettitalia!

You just got a 11.71% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @bennettitalia!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.342 which ranks you at #7734 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 5 places in the last three days (old rank 7729).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 219 contributions, your post is ranked at #122.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70887.21
ETH 3581.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75