How to clean a lobster

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


Yesterday, I posted a video of the unboxing and cooking of some fresh maritime lobster. I have to tell you, they were absolutely delicious. I felt like I was eating them in slow motion as if to try and make the whole experience last just a little bit longer. Everyone ate with smiles on their faces.


6B440822-1622-4FAD-9C37-761D99081299.jpeg

The kids were amazing as well because all of my training has finally paid off. You see, as much as lobsters are an amazing meal for the entire family, they are usually a lot of work for me. Cleaning lobster takes some practice and is not always an easy task for the children. Therefore, I would spend a lot of time cleaning the kid's lobsters so they could eat. That is until now. My kids have finally learned to clean their lobsters on their own.


653D3542-547C-4EE9-91AD-CE17B0C11C46.png

This got me thinking about how there are many people who have a hard time with the cleaning of a lobster. Have you ever ordered lobster at a restaurant and received the whole lobster and had no idea how to get it all open? It is really quite easy once you know and with a little practice, you can do it fairly quickly as well. I have gotten to the point where I can clean and empty an entire lobster in under 5 minutes.

This video is a step by step tutorial about how to take your lobster apart and get to that delicious meat. Having the right tools is a big help. You should have either lobster scissors or crackers. The crackers are similar to a nutcracker. You also need a lobster fork or a regular fork to help get the meat out of the shells.


0FC8EAAD-4328-4496-8E49-04EDFEB17DB1.png

There are other more primitive methods and tools such as using a hammer to crack the shells open. When it comes to getting at this delicacy people will go to whatever lengths needed to gain access.

I have always been fond of the hand hammer. When you are stuck without tools you use what you have. One time we even stopped at the fishery in Halifax and grabbed a couple of fresh cooked lobsters and sat outside at a picnic table and ate them with only a fork. I wrapped the claws up in a cloth and broke them open with my hand hammer. It was so much fun. I do however recommend using the “proper” tools.

Enjoy!!!


Animated_GIF-downsized_large_23.gif
Created by @hansenatortravel


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Who knew? Lobsters are left and right handed.

You look like me with a crab. Leave nothing edible behind :) It's a really good video presentation of a skill that most don't get a chance to practice very often.

I wasn’t willing to do it on the video Tom but I was sucking the kisses out of the empty claws man. It is all edible and leave nothing behind.

It is certainly something I would like to do more often.

Awesome video! I am so craving lobster right now. lol :) Great job!

Today was a very sad day. Once this video was over the rest of the lobster was eaten. Dad enjoyed a lobster roll and we ate some straight up.so flipping yummy.

lol sad day indeed. I am going to make myself a breakfast burrito for dinner....not Lobster... :( lol

Do you not eat your lobster hot at your plate with each person just 'cleaning' it as they eat it? Maybe that's a new england thing, but we get them hot out of the pot onto our plates and we all sit down and dig in. We usually start by sucking each little leg, still warm mmmmm. We always have a bowl of hot melted butter at each table setting to dip as we go. I usually pick some of mine and 'save it' in the butter as I am cleaning, but also eating along the way.

We take a fork and invert it into the tail and pull out, it always comes out clean and easy that way.

Cool video.

Yeah, we totally do all that. That is why it is so exciting that my kids have all figured it out now. I don’t have to help them as much at the table. It is a messy meal as lobster juices are squirting all over as they are being ripped apart. Everyone is sucking the legs and practically licking the insides of the shells. Of course, there is always garlic butter at the table for dipping. Half the fun is watching everyone ripping heir lobster apart.
I like my lobster hot and cold.

Me too, next day cold lobster is wonderful. Also I usually save all the body parts to boil for chowder stock.

Another successful video upvoted by dtube. Good job in sharing how to handle the lobster. From your first post of self-introduction to fishing and now to cooking. You are really heading for a steady success. Congrats in your journey in using dtube!

Your article is very good, my game is very fun. https://goo.gl/Dd9394

Delegators Thanksgiving Thursday it is! Thank you for delegating some SP to us, we have upvoted your post with 100%

I loved the video and I have never seen such big lobsters live. It looks like a nice method of cleaning it.


If you would like to support the educational community by delegating to @steemiteducation, please click on any of the following links. This will ensure that more teachers are supported on a daily basis.
100SP 200SP 300SP 400SP 500SP 750SP 1000SP 2000SP 3000SP 4000SP 5000SP 10,000SP 25,000SP

OMG, I don't think I have ever even tried lobster! It is so expensive here in the UK! Does it taste like crab? lol (Yes, I need to get out more haha)
edit: and now I am hungry and my fast has only just started, aaahh!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71