My Experience Being A Foster Parent

in #dtube6 years ago


In my previous 2 videos I told you my story of growing up in foster care.
There is more to that story and I will tell you guys in future videos.
I was removed from my family when I was 12 years old and I was never returned back to my family.
My husband was also in and out of foster care when he was a child.
For this reason we both felt that we would be great foster parents as we had gone through being
foster children and we could relate to the children on a different level. So this is what we did.

We were foster parents in Polk County Florida so this video is about our experiences with them
and some of the issues we came across.

One of the things that we learned really fast is there was no real support given to the children
while they are in foster care. Behavioral issues that kids tend to develop because of being removed
from their families go unaddressed. And we found that the department was more than willing to fix
the problems that came up by simply moving the child to a different home. By doing this the process
would be restarted and the child would never get the care they needed. their behavior would only get
worse with each placement.

It has been studied and found that each placement would set the child back 6 months in their
school performance. So in the end the child suffers even more abuse at the hands of the state.

According to the department it is cheaper to just move the child than give them the care they need.
You see the state knows that with each new placement there is a honeymoon period where the child will
be on their best behavior. This usually lasts 4-6 months. So they know they can place them with a new
home and not have to worry about them for that time period. This is why it is not unheard of for a
foster child to be in care for 2 years and be moved 4-6 times.
The constant moving around is horrible for their development and the older they are the worse it can be.

So what does the state pay for each child.
Well the department gets an amount for each child they have in a foster home.
Out of that the foster family gets almost $450 a month.
When a foster child is adopted the family still gets $400 a month among other benefits.

Please do not get me wrong I know there are children that are being abused and do need the care.
However the vast majority of children currently in foster care and many that have been adopted
have been stolen from their families so the state and those providing the care can make money.

And this needs to stop!!!

Thank you for watching my video and reading my post.
Please upvote and resteem it.
THANK YOU!!!!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

This post has been Resteemed and Upvoted by @familyprotection

Governments around the world,
are using "Child Protection Agencies"
to take children away from loving families
and place them in foster care or group homes
or put up for adoption.
THESE FAMILIES NEED PROTECTING.

Thank-you @curlfamilyvlog for supporting @familyprotection

thank you for upvoting and resteeming this.

This post has been upvoted and resteemed by @thethreehugs

thank you

Thank your for fostering @curlfamilyvlog . I have a book coming out in 2020 that is called, An Orphan's Tale. It is more about the hell foster parents go through raising a foster child. Unknowingly I put my foster parents through hell and although they did great rehabilitated me the scars or raising me are still visible. I hope my book can help educate both foster parents and orphans alike what both points of view are. I hope it will bring healing and understating as you have to those you have fostered. Bless all your days!

That is an awesome idea. Keep me informed on how it is going and when it comes out.

I appreciate what you do, give with love gives pleasant results

Congratulations @curlfamilyvlog, this post is the third most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 4916 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $5027.51. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

I would love to visit there. Great picture!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16