Vlog 166: Steem briefly went over $4 last night! The Steem blockchain is finding itself in the perfect storm.

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


December is turning out to be the craziest crypto month I ever lived through.

Crypto has exploded across the board and STEEM went briefly through $4 last night.

Funny fact: $4 is actually the price I bought my first STEEM for 18 months ago.

Now I feel like the Steem blockchain is finding itself in the perfect storm.

While some major cryptos are suffering at the moment from severe scaling problems and insane fees STEEM is perfectly fine.

It's doing the most transactions of all the blockchains and it doesn't break a sweat. It's under 0.36% strain.

Ethereum and Bitcoin are at 100% strain right now. And Bitcoin at the moment has a $40-$50 fee per transaction!

Again, STEEM has no fees. All transactions are for free and fast! (3 seconds).

In the beginning of 2018 SMT's will come out.


Anyone will be able to create a token (Smart media token) on the Steem blockchain for cheap (1$).

I can see tons of use cases for this. Implemented in apps, communities and different front ends.

Why would you build your own blockchain if you can use the best? for basically free?

Only when your app/community or frontend gains in popularity and your SMT is using more bandwidth on the STEEM blockchain will you need to own more STEEMPOWER to 'pay' for this bandwidth.

This is where I think the real value of STEEM will be revealed.



I am a witness with our developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support us I would appreciate your vote here.

We build Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I am just so excited to see more fun in steem here i wish it go more high i have small steems but i am glad for it

It's there again right now! I know you check your phone every 5 seconds so you've probably seen it already ;)

Screen Shot 2017-12-21 at 09.58.43.png

As for BTC I wish they would just increase the blocksize, even if just to 2mb. It's as though they don't understand the harm that this is doing to Bitcoins reputation and how far away it has moved since I first used it in 2013. Eventually, though I see both BTC and BCH becoming obsolete by better technology built from the ground up. To really win at this game a currency must be instant and free, two qualities which I doubt Bitcoin will ever have

@exyle I know you are right about our beloved STEEM and I want you to know the Best is yet to come in 2018. I am so excited for you and Bianca and the BLOCKBROTHERS.................Thank You for showing me how to be consistent on STEEMIT @stokjockey. BLOG Daily and be Rewarded......

Marry Christmas in advance from India, with the greatest price of steem to your family Bianka, @clio and you my friend .Thanks for sharing such a valuable information.

Isn't it great!! I also saw the price early this morning and I was happy. It's like an early Christmas present.

It sure is :)

@exyle I wrote something abnormal and different tonight that I thought you'd really like. Please visit..

re: After we are all dead.. the importance of STEEM. Twisted subject, but important.

Caution: for thinkers only.

I think your opinion is true after reading exyle of Post turns out to be true

Once SMTs gain popularity, this month will be considered relaxed :))

I experience the exact opposite. The higher Steem & SBD go. The more I realize the opportunities we have here right now.

@exyle,
"Funny fact: $4 is actually the price I bought my first STEEM for 18 months ago."
Yeah few weeks back you said this! So, it happens again, but in this time I don't think it might not drop as last time! The greatest block now we are sitting on! So, this is the future! Great article friend!

Cheers~

I have newly joined steemit and now I fell proud to have chosen one of the best crypto plateform. I am jubilient with current price jump. Thanks for your post.

I cannot wait to see this ability to launch media tokens. I am curious why I had no idea this was a project. Is there any linkable site currently so I can read up ? I work for a popular Crypto media outlet team and would like to be able to report on things like this when it is news. Hmmm. I need more ! Lol ok I am following you now. If you have any media and press needs - globally, I am that girl. You want to see steemify on yahoo news or marketwatch or shared in a syndicated manner across thousand of news desks ? I am that girl . Also in the Crypto news outlets too. 🦋.

Here you go: https://smt.steem.io/

Wonderful thanks very much. 🦋⭐️✨

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89