Body Mechanics and Primitive Movements

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


Today is a bit more on the physical side. I am diving into the ideas of body mechanics and primitive movement.

I had an idea a couple years ago that the key to longevity and health is the ability to bend backwards. That may sound odd, but after seeing how the spine works and all that it controls...I think I am onto something. Have you noticed that we fold and bend forward as we age?

I have been really physically active since I was a teen ager and first started with power lifting. I learned real quick that proper body mechanics was necessary.

As life got on I fought to move. Because of the heavy weights I started to notice how stiff I was. I learned more about recovery and repair, and have set myself on path to repair, and rebuild.

As I have said in other posts, I now practice yoga six days a week, and have just started to learn about primitive movements.

The idea of doing a deep squat comfortably was never even an option. I have learned that there are certain movements that optimize the bodies ability to function. Simple body weight movements.

I personally have started to deep squat, or yogi squat. I start by putting my feet about shoulder width apart. I do some shallow squats and pulses to warm up my legs and joints, and then lower my body down.

I have found that adding blocks under my heals has given my legs a chance to relax and settle into the posture. I hold it for one minute at a time. It has only been a few days of doing it and I already feel a difference.

I got an incredible low back stretch, a couple of pops, and I can feel a good deep stretch on my left pelvis. I have also noticed that my knees are crackling less when I stand up.

I am not quite in a position to give instructional posts or videos. I am sure if I keep this up I will be!!

For now I will continue to share my journey, and my love for this body that is mine.

Be well

~The Yeti


▶️ DTube
▶️ YouTube
Sort:  

Gymnastics is absolutely necessary.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87