The Progression of DTubesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)

Almost one month ago I wrote an article focusing in on negative aspects of the decentralized application Dtube. In the period of time since I posted the article, I've noticed a large amount of improvement with many aspects of the service. As a fan of decentralized applications I am always happy to see end users who have a great experience. I can see many things being done over at DTube to improve the overall experience. I'd like to cover a few of these improvements, as I believe it is just as important, versus covering the negative aspects.

xjXk7KQ (1).jpg

From the start after reading Dtube's steemit.com post I was intrigued by the combination of IPFS technolgooy and the Steem blockchain. Having good Marketing and Buzzwords like Blockchain and Decentralized Technology also help the service grow using grass roots methods and word of mouth. Two key things Dtube has. Originating from the alternate media networks on services like YouTube and Discord. Thus, DTube continues to gain new users.

Hosting

A major improvement has been made with DTube's hosting speeds. Videos load a lot faster now. From what I understand they are still using IPFS software. I've noticed running my own IPFS nodes, that the more recent revisions have a lot of the bugs worked out. As IPFS software is still under development.

Retention

Videos are staying up for longer than before, giving voters and viewers a chance to exchange value.
Retaining videos from around the globe is an incredibly hard task, I also believe this is critical to DTube retaining creators.

Curation

Dtube recently released some curation tools as open source, investing into the underling communities with free software than can be implemented tomorrow.

Community Outreach and Support

This one in my opinion is absolute key to Dtube's success. From what I observed DTube massively stepped up the community support for the end users making for a lot better experience.

I felt the need to post this observation because not many people outside these circles really know what has gone on inside the DTube community and decentralized application itself. I do believe DTube can find massive success if they continue to keep working on the small user experience problems and keep on building upon the things they have been successful with.

Sort:  

...DTube can find massive success if they continue to keep working on the small user experience problems and keep on building upon the things they have been successful with.

Absolutely! And I do agree that retention is a very big deal. Even past the payout, there is still value in the posts themselves. It's pretty disappointing when I am looking for a video on how-to or DIY or maybe even a recipe, only to find a post where the video is gone. Those types of posts are timeless. If they continue to improve retention, I believe that will attract more users.

I agree. I encourage people to post on multi platforms. For example Bitchute, YouTube, and other services like google drive to keep the videos and source files safe just in case they are unavailable at some point.

Good post. And today they apparently rolled out some new options for the curation bot/team. @reseller did a great video on the new system.

I have seem some fairly negative opinions on Dtube, but as a user, I love it. They are more than fair with their rewards, they have a rather unique user base that all posts aren't open to. Good info buddy glad to see someone sticking up for em :)

Congratulations @gray00! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Play-off for third result


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.40
ETH 3576.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75