Learned a New Tune - Morrison's Jig

in #dtube5 years ago


Here's a tune I heard today...

And decided I wanted to learn it. Hadn't learned a new fiddle tune in a while.

The bowing is really important in the Irish Jigs and Reels. Gotta make sure you put the emphasis on the right "syllable".

Enjoy ;)

Jackie O


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I reminded when I was child I played violin much perfectly. But increasing my age level my skills leave from me without practice. I listen violin music after long time through your video. Absolutely nice to hear it. Finally catch new fiddle tune.

I'm so glad you enjoyed it @madushanka. Why don't you play anymore? You can always get those skills back!

Resteemed, your post will appear in the next curation with a SBD/STEEM share for you!


Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community.

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.

The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord.
Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio.
Follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto or help us out with a delegation!

Good job on Morrison's Jig Jackie. Another good one to add to it is Lilting Banshee and then end with Cliff's of Moher.

Those make a great set together.

You did good with it. Try adding some bowed triplets in that tune and it really helps on the jig rhythm. Also, adding a little extra bow pressure on the up-stroke helps with the jig accent.

We need to do a split-screen recording together some time.

Ooo awesome! I love learning new tunes, and I'd like to have an excuse to do more of that, so thank you for the suggestions!

Yea, there's definitely a lot more that could be done with that tune. I was really just learning the basic melody from the video I was watching. Will try adding in those embellishments.

Definitely down to do a split screen recording sometime! That would be fun. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86